Eggless Coffee Pudding| Easy Dessert Recipe

You would probably already know that I have been experimenting quite a bit, of late, with desserts that are very simple to make, yet delicious, and guaranteed to bring a smile on the faces of the eaters. I have never been good at making the traditional Indian desserts, like gulab jamun or mysorepa, at home. So, these quick-fix, simple but unique desserts are what I usually turn to whenever we have guests over or on special occasions or just because, whenever the OH and I need a sweet fix. My most recent discovery in this category of easy desserts is an eggless coffee pudding, whose recipe I found here.

I made this coffee pudding recently, and was amazed at just how easy it was to make – it hardly took a few minutes to put together. It is eggless to boot, and tastes just lovely. Chilled, it makes the perfect accompaniment to lunch or dinner.

005 (7).JPG

I followed the original recipe mostly, but did make a few variations of my own. Also, I felt the quantities used in the original recipe make pudding that is enough to serve 4 (in our case, they did!).

Here is how I made the pudding.

Ingredients (serves 4):

2 cups of milk

2 tablespoons instant coffee powder (I used Bru)

2 tablespoons corn flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

8 Marie biscuits (or digestive biscuits of your choice)

Dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)

Method:

  1. Crush the biscuits into a coarse powder, using your hands. Keep aside.
  2. Warm about 1/2 cup of the milk, and mix in the cornflour and instant coffee powder. Ensure that everything is combined well together and that there are no lumps.
  3. Heat the remaining 1-1/2 cups of milk in a pan along with the sugar. Add the cornflour-coffee mixture to the pan too.
  4. Cook the mixture till it begins to thicken, stirring continuously.
  5. Add the vanilla essence to the mixture. Mix well, until thoroughly combined.
  6. Let the mixture cool down completely.
  7. Now, make a little layer of crushed biscuits in the bottom of a small cup or glass. Spoon some coffee mixture over the biscuit layer. Add a few dark chocolate chips over the coffee mixture. Add one more layer of powdered biscuits, then one more layer of the coffee mixture, and again, a few dark chocolate chips.
  8. Prepare 4 cups/ glasses in a similar fashion.
  9. Let the glasses chill, covered, in the refrigerator till you are ready to serve it. It tastes best when chilled.

Variations:

  1. You could drizzle some chocolate syrup over each layer of biscuits and coffee mixture that you make. I didn’t do that, because I thought the pudding was just the right amount of sweet, and didn’t want to add to it.
  2. I think dark chocolate chips go really well with this pudding, but if you don’t have them, you could add ordinary milk chocolate or white chocolate chips as well.
  3. I think digestive biscuits or Marie biscuits would be best for making this pudding, but you could use Oreos or chocolate chip cookies too. It would be best to slightly reduce the amount of sugar you are using, in that case.
  4. A different sort of essence – maybe orange – would also go very well with this pudding, according to me.

Do you like the sound of this recipe? I hope you will try it out too, and that you will like it as much as we did!

*********************

Here are some other easy dessert recipes that I have tried out and loved.

Boondi Laddoo Rabdi

OPOS Coffee Flan

No-Bake Eggless Chocolate Ganache And Strawberry Tart

Eggless Mango Ice Cream Without Ice Cream Maker

Chocolate & Coconut Balls With Dry Fruits

Eggless Lemon Ice Cream Without Ice Cream Maker

No-Bake Vanilla Ice Cream Pie With Fresh Grapes, Strawberry & Butterscotch Syrup

Panchamritam, The Food Of The Gods

Home-Made Date & Nut Fudge

Fruit ร‹xtravaganza

 

 

12 thoughts on “Eggless Coffee Pudding| Easy Dessert Recipe

  1. Hey TGND, I’m here to comment after ages. I do read your posts very regularly, though, since they come into my inbox. Just too lazy to come and comment. Wanted to let you know that I love your updates; on recipes, Bubboo, or life ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

