Boondi Laddoo Rabdi| Easy Dessert Idea

So, a while ago, I had a few boondi laddoos lying at home, and neither the OH nor I were willing to eat them as they were. They stared me in the face every day, till they were in danger of going green in the face themselves. That was when I decided I had to do something about them. I was clear I wanted to convert them into some kind of dessert, though. So, I went ahead and added some embellishments to the laddoos, and converted them into a gorgeous boondi laddoo rabdi, which went on to be much loved by the family. Now I know exactly what to do with leftover laddoos!

This laddoo makeover is super simple to perform, and the end result is super delicious, I can assure you. You have to try it out to believe it!

IMG_20160515_221627841_HDR

Here is what I did.

Ingredients (for about 4 portions):

4 boondi laddoos, crumbled

1/2 litre or 500 ml full-fat milk (I used Nandini)

1 cup of fresh cream (I used Amul)

Some broken cashewnuts

Some raisins

Sugar to taste, roughly 4-5 tablespoons

Method:

  1. Heat the milk in a heavy-bottomed vessel on high flame, till it reaches the point of boiling. At this stage, turn the flame down to low. Let the milk cook till it reduces to about 3/4, stirring intermittently,  switching between low and medium flame, ensuring that the milk does not boil over.
  2. Add sugar to taste and the cream. Cook on medium flame for 4-5 minutes, till the mixture thickens a bit. Do not let the mixture get too thick, as it thickens further on cooling. It is best to keep the consistency on the thick but liquidy side at this stage.
  3. Add the crushed boondi laddoos, raisins and cashewnuts. Cook on low flame for a couple more minutes.
  4. Let the rabdi cool down completely, and then let it chill in the refrigerator. Serve it chilled – it tastes best when chilled.

You like? Do try it out some time!

6 thoughts on “Boondi Laddoo Rabdi| Easy Dessert Idea

Leave a Reply

