Balcony Tales

Balconies have always been important to me. I love balconies. I think they are windows to the world outside, from where you can look out, all the while sitting in the safe comfort of your own home. They are sanctuaries, where you can grab a few moments of peace over a cup of tea or a plate of bajjis. They are in-between, neither inside the house nor outside, a place where you can escape to when the chaos inside the house gets too much for you, and you don’t really want to get out of the house. They make the house outward-looking, I think. Without a balcony, a house would be isolated from the rest of the world, cut off, very inward-looking – of course, my own two cents only, meaning no offense to anyone else. For this very reason, I do not like balconies with grills – they make a house safe, yes, but they also close out a lot of light and action and air and love and make the house, well, suffocating.

I especially love balconies that do not face dead, overgrown plots of vacant land or the back of someone else’s house. I like my balconies to look out onto a road, possibly, where there is a little action – just enough action, mind you, not too much. My ideal balcony is one where there are plants (flowers and a small patch of herbs and some vegetables), a swing and a little nook where I can sit and think and create.

Considering my love of balconies (thankfully, the OH shares a bit of this love), a road-facing balcony was one thing we always look out for while we are looking for an apartment to live. We had three balconies (three! yes, a rarity these days) in the place we used to stay in earlier, and a long road-facing one in the place we shifted to last year. It took us quite some time to set up the balcony garden in the house we presently live in, but now, I can safely say we are almost 70% done. The garden still needs a lot of work to bring it to the shape I want to bring it to, but at least there is some semblance of a garden now, there is a sanctuary in the house for me to go to, there is a little place that fills my heart with joy.

I am happy to say Bubboo seems to love the balcony as much as I do. It is the first place she heads to, as soon as she wakes up in the mornings. It is where she sits and watches the older boys and girls in our apartment play in the evenings. It is where I sit and talk to her about the different kinds of things that we see around us – from dogs and cats to vegetable vendors and trees and flowers. It is where Bubboo sits and watches the rain. She often eats sitting out on the balcony. I sometimes read to her there. We like basking in the sun on the balcony, on days when it is not too hot. We like watching as our neighbours wave to us in the balcony, and waving back to them. We like watching as butterflies and squirrels run in and out of our plants, searching for food. I could just go on and on and on!

Balconies have always, always been a place of solace for me. Our balconies have seen a lot of action. They hold a whole lot of fond memories for us. They have been a place of sharing our own kind of love, of bonding with each other. They have been places of sustenance for us, providing us with some home-grown ingredients for our food.

This new place is slowly, very slowly, beginning to feel like home. We are apart from the rest of the OH’s family now, very far away, but we are slowly finding friends here, bonding, building up relationships. I hope, with all my heart, that we soon forge friendships and relationships of note here, and that our balcony here goes on to witness a whole lot of special, little memories.

 

 

9 thoughts on “Balcony Tales

  1. That’s true.

    I am guessing you have always lived in an apartment because you have always lived in a big city.

    When I left home at the age of 21 years to live in a big city/cities, all I got was cramped spaces to live in 😃

    Now I aspire to have both: a spacious urban existence

    Like

    1. @Through The Looking Glass

      Not really. I haven’t always lived in a big city. I was brought up in the small town of Ahmedabad. 🙂 We had an apartment there, though, not an independent house.

      Good luck with meeting your aspirations!

      Like

  2. Balcony, the refuge of urban apartment dwellers… The balcony is the part of the house that determines its price in big cities… Living in one myself, I find myself aching for our house in the small town I come from where there’s grass beneath your feet as soon as you step out of the house.

    Like

    1. @Through The Looking Glass

      Exactly! Because balconies these days are just extra space which can be used inside the house, can be used to earn extra living space and profits. Sad state of affairs, eh?

      These days, we see a whole lot of houses with no balconies at all – not even a small sit-out. Houses and in turn families too are becoming so self-contained – they seem to need no one else but themselves. I find this to be an indicator of the sadder times to come, a sign of the times we live in.

      Lucky you to have grass under your feet as soon as you got out of home, while you were growing up. I never had that luxury. I have always lived in an apartment, and balconies have been my refuge. I have been lucky to have great balconies wherever I have lived, though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

