Easy Dessert| Eggless, Creamy Lemon Ice Cream Without Ice Cream Maker

I have always been in awe of the huge lemons that you get in the US of A, the ones that are the size of an adult palm. I have always wanted to get my hands on at least one of these lemons, and use the zest in some kind of dessert. So, when the husband brought home two such huge lemons from his recent work trip, I was enthralled and in no doubt about what to make.

DSC07683

I chose to make lemon ice cream, a sinfully creamy and delicious dessert that is super easy to put together. I made it a few years back and proceeded to forget all about it, only to have the memories come flooding back as I held the two lemons from Turkey in my hands.

This lemon ice cream, as I said, is very simple to make. All you need to do is mix up a few ingredients, and let your freezer do the rest. It doesn’t need an ice cream maker, yes. It tastes beautiful, once you train your mind to get past the tanginess that is uncommon in an ice cream. At least, everyone in our family loves it to bits.

DSC07740

Without further ado, I will tell you how I made the lemon ice cream.

Ingredients (for about 6 medium-sized servings):

250 ml whipping cream (I used Amul)

200 grams sweetened condensed milk (I used Amul)

3 tablespoons of powdered sugar (or to taste – skip altogether if you think the mixture is sweet enough as is)

A pinch of salt

1/2 cup freshly-squeezed lemon juice

1 tablespoon lemon zest (I grated the peel of the lemon finely, using an ordinary cheese grater, taking care not to grate the white part of the rind, as that would make the dessert bitter)

Method:

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Whisk for a minute or two, till everything is well combined together.
  3. Transfer the contents of the mixing bowl to a smaller bowl, and place it, covered, in the freezer, with the temperature set at high.
  4. Let the ice cream chill in the freezer for at least a couple of hours or till serving. There is no need to churn it at regular intervals of time, as you would in case of traditional ice cream.
  5. Serve as soon as the ice cream is out of the freezer, garnished with a bit more lemon zest.

ETA on April 13, 2016: I made this again a while back with candied lemon added to it, and it tasted yummylicious! I just cut up the candied lemon into small pieces and added it to the mixing bowl, with the rest of the ingredients.

Does this recipe sound intriguing to you? If you do decide to try it out, please don’t forget to let me know how it turned out, OK?

Do you make similar simple desserts at home, too? If so, do share the recipes!

19 thoughts on “Easy Dessert| Eggless, Creamy Lemon Ice Cream Without Ice Cream Maker

  1. this sound easy…will have to give it a try! 🙂
    BTW in our parts of the country we have a similar looking variety of lemon called “Kaji Nemu”….its delicious and the taste incomparable 🙂
    (You can google the name for a picture of it)

    Like

Leave a comment