Dark Horse| Easy Dessert Idea

ETA: This is my 1000th post on this blog, WordPress reminds me! Wow! I am stunned – have I been blabbering for so long? πŸ™‚ Thank you for patiently reading me, all you guys!

********

So, yesterday, I was pottering around the house with nothing to do, and spotted this packet of orange cream biscuits that had been lying around since long. I decided to try out an orange biscuit cake (yes, such a thing exists!) that I had read about on a blog a while back. I did, with my own chocolate-ey twist to it, and the cake turned out super gorgeous too, but I was in such a hurry to get it out of the tin that I attempted that while it was still hot. I ended up with crumbs of a heavenly-smelling orange and chocolate cake that had me wondering what to do about it. I racked the grey cells (whatever I have left of them, that is!) and came up with this confection – orange-chocolate biscuit cake crumble with fruits and nuts – that I decided to call Dark Horse, because it just felt like a Dark Horse kind of thing. I served it as post-dinner dessert, and it was a huge, huge hit at home.

012

 

This dessert is especially dear to me because it reminds me of myself. Dark horse. Someone very different in a family that is full of white horses. Someone who chose writing and reading rather than engineering or medicine or law. Someone who never cared for thoughtlessly following tradition even as a young girl. Someone who wasn’t very social or jovial, but would rather prefer to have her head buried in a book. Someone who got married to a rather unconventional guy. Someone who doesn’t have a stable job and has never raked in the moolah. Yet, someone with a strong character of her own, who is a mix of many different flavours that make her.

All right, I’ll stop my rambling there. I’ll tell you all about how I made this beautiful dessert.

This is the recipe I was hugely inspired by.

Ingredients (4 servings):

For the cake:

12 orange cream biscuits (I used Bounce)

2 teaspoons of sugar

1/4 cup dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)

1/4 teaspoon baking soda (You could even use plain Eno fruit salt instead)

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup of boiled and cooled milk (adjust the quantity as per your preference)

For the serving:

A handful of mixed nuts, chopped (I used almonds and cashewnuts)

A few raisins

A few seedless black grapes

Method:

For the cake:

  1. Grind the orange cream biscuits, baking powder, chocolate chips, baking soad and sugar together in a mixer. You should get a fine powder.
  2. Preheat the oven at 200 degrees for 10 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, mix the milk with the biscuit powder to make a batter that is neither very thick nor very thin.
  4. Line a cake tin with parchment paper and keep it ready.
  5. Pour the batter into the parchment paper-lined tin. Pop the tin into the oven and bake at 160 degrees for about 20 minutes or until a knife inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean.
  6. Let the cake cool down completely before you remove it from the tin. You could ice the cake at this stage or just slice it up and eat it as is. Or you could make a crumble, as I did.

For the crumble:

  1. When the cake has cooled down completely, crumble it entirely, ensuring there are no big lumps.
  2. Make a layer of the cake crumble at the bottom of a bowl, then one more layer above it – of raisins and mixed nuts. Add some more cake crumbs over the raisins and nuts. Then, decorate with more mixed nuts, raisins and seedless black grapes.
  3. Prepare all 4 servings in a similar manner. Serve immediately.

Notes:

  1. You could even serve the cake crumble with vanilla and/or chocolate ice cream. It should make a great pair, I think.
  2. You could make this cake in hundreds of different flavours. A mix of pineapple and chocolate biscuits, or just chocolate cream biscuits, or orange and chocolate, whatever you fancy. I chose to use orange cream biscuits, for an intensely orange flavour, with a handful of chocolate chips thrown in.

You like? I hope you will try this out, and that you will love it, too!

*************

Here are some other easy dessert recipes that I have tried out and loved.

Boondi Laddoo Rabdi

OPOS Coffee Flan

No-Bake Eggless Chocolate Ganache And Strawberry Tart

Eggless Mango Ice Cream Without Ice Cream Maker

Chocolate & Coconut Balls With Dry Fruits

Eggless Lemon Ice Cream Without Ice Cream Maker

No-Bake Vanilla Ice Cream Pie With Fresh Grapes, Strawberry & Butterscotch Syrup

Panchamritam, The Food Of The Gods

Home-Made Date & Nut Fudge

Fruit Γ‹xtravaganza

Eggless Coffee Pudding

Chocolate & Nut laddoos

Home-made date & nut fudge

Orange-infused date & nut pedas

Easy-peasy chocolate fudge

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Dark Horse| Easy Dessert Idea

  1. 1000 posts is an achievement! I’ve been writing on my current blog since 2008, and I just managed to touch 500 posts. Not a great record for 8 years I suppose. It’s amazing to see you posting so regularly.

    The dessert sounds terrific. I love anything that combines orange and chocolate.. Will try this soon!

    Like

    1. @Suko

      Thank you for reading me patiently, Suko. πŸ™‚

      I love your blog, too! I just changed the theme of my blog, and somehow, the settings have changed and my blogroll is no longer visible. Need to look into it.

      I hope you will try out this dessert recipe soon. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. @Perspectivesandprejudices

      Oh, I love the chocolate-orange combination. We have been on an orange phase lately. I also tried out a dates, orange and fruit and nut peda recently that we loved. Do check out that recipe too – you might like it.

      As for this recipe, yes, it is very simple to make and delish too. You must try it out. The orange cream biscuits and chocolate chips contain enough sugar.. so you don’t have to add much. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the best wishes! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

