Because we were ultra bored…

this girl and I came up with the idea of Alphabet Cooking. What is it, you ask? Well, every weekend or so (no pressure!), we choose a dish beginning from a letter of the English alphabet, in serial order, and cook it. It could be a dish completely new to us, a dish that we have totally forgotten over time, or something that we usually make. Both of us could make the same dish at the same time, or different ones. There are no rules. The underlying idea is to lose oneself in the process of deciding on the dish of the week, buying the requisite ingredients and cooking it, and then blogging all about it!

We kicked off the challenge last week, and I decided on ‘A for Avial’. I am a novice at making avial, but both the OH and I love it. Since Amma was staying over with us, it was a good time to learn how to make the dish, properly, from her. I did, and it was great fun. šŸ™‚

04712

Here’s the recipe that we used…

Ingredients (for two people):

About 3 large cups of chopped vegetables, chopped large – I used raw plantain, brinjal, French beans, carrot, white pumpkin, green peas and potato

Salt to taste

1 tablespoon of oil

1 teaspoon of mustard seeds

A few curry leaves, for garnishing

A pinch of asafoetida

Fresh curd, according to taste

To grind:

About a fistful of fresh, grated coconut

1 tablespoon of cumin seeds (jeera)

3 green chillies, or according to taste

Method:

1. Grind the coconut, cumin seeds and green chillies together in a mixer, using a little water. Keep aside.

2. Heat a little oil in a pressure cooker bottom. Add the mustard seeds, and allow them to splutter. Add the asafoetida.

3. Add the chopped vegetables and saute for a minute.

4. Add the ground paste and salt to taste. Mix well, and let it cook for a minute.

5. Add a bit of water for the vegetables to cook in, and the curry leaves. Mix well.

6. Close the pressure cooker lid, and let everything cook for about 3 whistles.

7. Open the pressure cooker when the steam releases. Mix in the curd, as required, just before serving.

Tastes good with plain rice. I even like it with rotis! šŸ™‚

Kismi, can’t wait to see what you will come up with for A!

 

35 thoughts on “Because we were ultra bored…

  1. wow, what an idea sir ji.. now we readers will have more recipes to try.. and i am big fan for cook/recipe blogs.. but some how anything with word kitchen is blocked in my office.. so i can read my favorite jeyashri’s kitchen or raks kitchen.. but now i can read ur blog and try my hands on it.. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Wow I so love this challenge. Can I take it up too? šŸ™‚

    I like Avial too, S is not a big fan of it and thus I have never made it. I should make it sometime and see if S changes his opinion šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Oh looks fabulous, TGND! I like avial. K is developing a taste for it still. There was this conference in Kerala where I had mean mean avial in the university and LOVED it. I have never been able to replicate that taste.
    My post is up too šŸ˜›

    Like

Leave a Reply

