C for…. cheese and onion paratha

I was wondering what to make for the letter C in the Alphabet Cooking Challenge, when I came across this by chance. I decided to ditch carrot halwa and chocolate cake, and make cheese and onion parathas instead, yesterday. I was in the mood to eat them, and I had a few cubes of Amul cheese lying in the fridge too. So, the parathas were duly made for lunch and heartily relished. They turned out super delicious, if I may say so myself.

I followed the My Magic Pan recipe completely, and just added a bit of amchoor powder of my own. I felt it added a nice tangy edge to the cheesy flavour of the parathas.

I know the picture isn’t great but, trust me, the parathas were.

Here is the original recipe, with the little addition of amchoor powder…

Ingredients (for five medium-sized parathas):

2 cubes of Amul cheese, finely grated

1 medium-sized onion, finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon amchoor powder

1/2 teaspoon of chaat masala

1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder

1 teaspoon red chilli powder

A few sprigs of fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped

Salt, to taste – be careful with the salt, as the cheese already has quite a bit of it

1 cup of wheat flour

Oil for making the parathas

Method:

1. Take the wheat flour in a large bowl. Bind it into a dough, using the required amount of water. Keep aside.

2. Heat a little oil in a pan. Add the chopped onions, and cook them till they brown. Let them cool down completely.

3. In a bowl, mix together the cooled onions, chopped coriander, grated cheese, salt, chaat masala, turmeric powder, chilli powder and amchoor powder. Taste, and adjust spices if necessary.

4. Make balls of the dough, and roll each one out into a thick roti. Place a generous amount of stuffing inside each roti. Then, close the rotis and pinch out the excess dough. Roll them out again, carefully.

5. Heat a tawa and cook the rotis evenly, adding oil on both sides. Serve hot.

Do you make cheese parathas at home? How do you make them?

14 thoughts on “C for…. cheese and onion paratha

  1. I am going to keep a copy of this A-Z series of yours and Kismi’s. So awesome to be able to get all these recipies! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

