The randomness strikes again

~ Remember the reading slump that I was telling you about some time back? The last two books that I read did not pull me out of it. I just went on reading them, and they got over. That’s about it. However, over the weekend, I picked up Annie Sanders’s The Gap Year For Grown-Ups, and got hooked to it instantly. It is chick-lit, yes, but the storyline is interesting. At least, till now, and I am almost half way through the book. Fingers crossed for this to be the book which pulls me out of my slump.

~ Suddenly, I seem to be surrounded by loads of juicy books that I absolutely HAVE to read. I want to rush through each one of them, so that I can get to the next. At the same time, I also want to savour each bit of juiciness to the utmost, for as long a time as possible. 🙂

~ It has been a while since I cooked for the Alphabet Cooking Challenge. I do have something in mind for E. Hopefully, it will get cooked soon!

~ The OH took the day off work yesterday, just like that, to spend time with me. It had been ages since we did! I was thrilled. It reminded me of how therapeutic such unplanned breaks are. We went out for some time yesterday, and it was good not to have to face the usual crowds that we have to deal with, wherever we go, on weekends.

~ What’s with the prices of vegetables being sky-high these days? I can hardly find any vegetable which is below Rs. 80 a kg, except for cabbage. And, I am tired of cooking cabbage. Decent coriander is nowhere to be found, either. 😦

~ In spite of my social life being extremely low-key in the past month, I have been procrastinating badly on my freelance work. Not great attitude towards work, I know. I am not proud of it. I have, however, pulled myself together today, and am geared to do the best I can. Wish me luck with that!

~ Remember this little one? Well, she has grown up to become one of the most adorable babies I have ever seen. She recently had her head tonsured, and is now looking all the more adorable!

~ I had a Baskin Robbins ice cream for the first time in my life, last weekend. Yes, I am slow like that. 🙂 I had a scoop of Swiss Delight mixed with one of Praline. Delightful!

~ Amma has returned to her place, now that the OH is back from Delhi. She has left a huge vacuum in place of her. How do I fill that?

~ I am in love with the sound of glass bangles and anklets, all over again. Everywhere I go, I put on glass bangles and chunky anklets these days, both of which herald my arrival much before I become visible, causing everyone to turn around and look. Yes, I know I am not a cow, but I love the sound! 🙂 I love the feel of them on my hands and feet, too.

~ I am looking forward to the festive season to begin in August. I want to experience all the cheer and warmth that comes with it!

So, that’s about it, people. What have you been doing lately?

8 thoughts on “The randomness strikes again

  1. Freelance work needs a loooot of motivation eh? I recently took up a volunteering activity that can be done online from home thinking I have quite a bit of time in my hands .. But then how much I procrastinated getting to it!! I amazed my own self 🙂
    BTW, the kindle has arrived and am just loving it!! Thanks for all the advice TGND. I am reading Zen Garden – by Subrato Bagchi. Am really liking the book and the reading experience in Kindle is great!
    I am waiting to soak in a little more before writing about it.

    Like

    1. @Aarthy

      Yes, freelance work does need a lot of motivation, because there’s no one to really watch over you. 🙂

      Glad to know you are enjoying the Kindle. Looking forward to reading all about your experiences with it.

      Like

  2. some how i felt happy happy reading the post.. I have a love/hate relationship with anklets and bangles.. i like to wear them, but they should not make any noise.. especially when i am sleeping.. but its a blessing, only with that sound, i can trace where bunty is?

    Like

  3. I love your random posts you know! 🙂 I just started re-reading The School of Essential Ingredients again, after S left for Chennai. Pls tell me more about all those juicy books 🙂

    I am attacking my pulses everyday now, for the lack of good vegetables even at high prices. And I am treasuring the little coriander I could get.

    I so love the glass bangles 🙂 I remember a time in my life I had all colors of glass bangles. I so want to get there again.

    Unplanned breaks are so blissful, I know 🙂

    I am looking forward to August as well – for many reasons 🙂

    Like

    1. @Greenboochi

      I should dig into my supply of pulses, too, I think. 🙂

      Hope you are enjoying The School of Essential Ingredients. Will surely let you know all about the books I am waiting to get my hands on. Soon.

      I have collected loads of glass bangles over time. Just recently started wearing them again – had stopped because I couldn’t work with them!

      Like

  4. Aiyo…I am so totally not comfortable with the sounds of bangles and anklets..but to be honest, I love them on others :):)

    And one day chutti aisehi..what fun!!

    E se what dish if you dont eat eggs?? *wonders*

    I havent had a Baskin Robbins ever *Hi-Fi*

    There are loads of festivals in August this year na…Rakshabandhan, Jamaasthami, Ganesh Chaturthi…upar se August 15th bhi..Gee!

    Like

    1. @R’s Mom

      I am not comfortable with anklets and bangles at the workplace, but I am happy wearing them elsewhere. 🙂

      We had fun yesterday! 🙂

      E se dish.. you have to wait and watch. 😛

      Hi-five, soul sister! 😀

      So looking forward to the festivities in August!

      Like

Leave a Reply

