Here I go….

… being random, all over again.

** For those of you in Bangalore, the Dastkar Nature Bazaar is here. The OH and I have always tried to attend the bazaar, whenever there has been an edition in Bangalore, and we have always enjoyed it. It has always been a great experience, with folk music and dance performances, some great food, lots of open space, and lots of stalls selling a variety of Indian arts and crafts. I’m raring to visit the exhibition this time around, too. Let’s see how that works out, though!

** The Bangalore Literature Festival is going to be here next month, too. I remember being awed by Gulzarji at last year’s festival, and I really hope he’s going to come this year as well. I would love to go this time too. And, that reminds me, I still haven’t put up some posts/pictures about last year’s festival!

** The flower show for Independence Day is also on, at Lal Baugh. Phew! There’s so much going on in the city this time of the year – and I want to visit every place!

** The OH has started reading The Bridges Of Madison County, a book that I love to bits. I am so excited for him to finish the book, so that we can discuss it, and I can fall in love with it all over again. Oh, and by the way, the OH is a big-time non-reader, so this is a BIG event.

** The mater has been busy doing up her house for the Varamahalakshmi pooja today, and the aunt has been helping out. They have made special decorations this time around, the last I heard, and want me to arrive for the pooja (and lunch) today with my camera in tow. It is, apparently, a surprise for me. I am looking forward to see what they have come up with.

** It is becoming more and more difficult for me to find good books that I really, really want to read, these days. Everything either seems too dark and gory, or too made-up and dumb. Am I evolving as a reader or being increasingly picky? Time will tell, I suppose. Meanwhile, do let me know if you have any book suggestions for me, will you?

** While I still grapple with a sort-of-reading-slump, it is not that I haven’t been reading anything at all. Reading comes so naturally to me, like breathing, that I’ve got to be reading something or the other all the time. So, I am reading Annie Hawes’s Extra Virgin: Amongst The Olive Groves Of Liguria and Trisha Ashley’s Chocolate Wishes now. I am still not too far into the books to comment on how they are.

** I made a dish whose name begins with G, for the first time ever yesterday, for the Alphabet Cooking Challenge. It turned out wonderfully well, and was much loved at home. The recipe post will, hopefully, be up soon.

** I had been racking my brains for what dish to make with H, for the Alphabet Cooking Challenge, when the OH suggested something out of the blue. It does sound like an interesting idea, and I am looking forward to learn and make it. What is it? Wait and watch!

** Remember the art supplies I had got a couple of months ago? Well, I have finally started making use of them – the paints and brushes and the sketchbook, that is. I made a water colour painting the other day. It turned out super duper amatuerish, but I am happy I made it. It was so therapeutic just letting the colours glide over the paper and letting them take shapes of their own! I do think I am going to do more painting in the days to come, but I don’t think I will be putting them up on the blog. I am so not ready for that yet.

** It has been a long, long, long time since the OH and I spent some relaxed time out of home, exploring the city, like we used to oh-so-often earlier. I miss those good old days of exploring streets, finding little shops and other surprises, eating out at roadside eateries, and taking loads of pictures.

** I realise the OH and I have been living under a rock for the last year or so, and have completely lost track of good movies and songs. If you have watched any good movies recently and loved them, please do tell me all about them, okie? Ditto for the recent songs that you have heard and gotten hooked to?

That’s that for now, people. How have you been? What have you been up to?

10 thoughts on “Here I go….

  1. Wah! OH reading your favourite book?! LOVELY! Tell us how it went for him, okay? πŸ™‚

    I am not saying naything about the lovely events am missing out on. 😦 I hope you enjoy the Literary festival!

    My vote for Persepolis and Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi and “Where’d you go, Bernadette?” though am yet to finish the latter. The rest I know are a bit dark, thrillers etc. Will tell you when I find something really cool and nice! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Kismitoffeebar

      The OH will take at least a month to finish the book re, so will post the update then. πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ You are doing a lot of awesome things in Singapore yourself. πŸ™‚

      I have Persepolis with me. Need to read up a bit about the history included in the book, before I go ahead with it.

      Have heard a lot about Where’d You Go, Bernadette? too. That, however, seems a little dark to me. Will give it a read some time for sure, though.

      Like

  2. With you on reading-slump..just cant get around to finding books to read that I really want to get pulled in.

    Will wait to know how the OH finds The Bridges of Madison County πŸ™‚

    How I wish I lived somewhere close by your place..would have happily tagged along to the Literary Festival πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Deeps

      You’ve been having such a fantabulous time.. no wonder you’re facing a reading slump! πŸ™‚

      Would have loved it if you lived close to us… we could have done so many fun activities together. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Hi, thought I would respond in your blog instead of mine πŸ™‚ I am doing well now. Had to take a break from everything in the beginning of summer.

    Also, I have loved reading these books in last few months : Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami, I talk Pretty One day by David Sedaris and Persepolis by Marjane Setrapi. I hope you will like them.

    Like

    1. @Zinta

      Hey there! Good to hear from you, and to know that you are better now. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the update.

      Thanks for the book suggestions as well. I have heard a lot about Persepolis, and I even have the book with me. Will, hopefully, pick it up some time soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

