Apple, Pear & Cheese Salad

Let me tell you that I am a big fan of salads, if you don’t know that already. I love fixing up a salad with our meals, or in between meals. Sometimes, these salads are healthy, sometimes they aren’t. Sometimes, they are mostly healthy, but have some fun (read: unhealthy!) element thrown in. This Apple, Pear & Cheese Salad happens to fall into the category of ‘mostly healthy, with one or two unhealthy ingredients’ salads. πŸ˜›

005

This salad was inspired by the number of fruit-based salads I keep reading about on the Internet. I just threw together a few things from my kitchen for this salad, and the end product turned out to be delish! I know, for sure, that I am going to be making this salad, as well as other permutations and combinations of it, over and over again.

Here is how I made the salad.

Ingredients (serves 2):

  1. 1 medium-sized apple, cored and chopped into small cubes (I used a juicy Fuji apple)
  2. 1 medium-sized pear, cored and chopped into small cubes (I used one of those light green pears, with a smooth, thin skin)
  3. 1 cube of processed cheese (I used Amul), chopped into small cubes
  4. 8-10 roasted, salted almonds (I used Rostaa)
  5. Juice of 1/2 lemon
  6. Salt, to taste
  7. Pepper powder, to taste
  8. 2 tablespoons honey, or to taste
  9. 1/2 teaspoon jeera (cumin) powder
  10. About 1-1/2 tablespoons dried cranberries (with sugar syrup – picked them up at Ajfan)

Method:

Mix everything in a large mixing bowl. Serve immediately.

Notes:

  1. There’s no need to peel the pear and the apple.
  2. You could skip the cheese if you want to make the salad healthier, but I felt it added a nice flavour to the dish.
  3. Feta would be a better cheese to add to this salad, actually, but I added processed cheese since I didn’t have any.
  4. You could replace the roasted almonds with roasted walnuts, too.
  5. If you don’t have dried cranberries on hand, you could add raisins to the salad instead.
  6. An orange – peeled, de-seeded, with the strings removed, chopped into small fragments – could be added to the salad as well.
  7. You could use vinegar instead of lemon juice, but I prefer using the latter as it is natural.

You like? I hope you will try this out, too!

**********************

Here are some other salads that I have made and loved:

  1. Thai green mango and moong sprouts salad
  2. Thai raw mango and onion salad
  3. Thai green papaya salad
  4. Maharashtrian beetroot-onion raita
  5. Moong sprouts and pomegranate salad
  6. Kappa kizhangu/ tapioca salad
  7. Thai-style moong sprouts and pineapple salad
  8. Mexican nacho salad
  9. Simple carrot salad
  10. Thai-style water chestnut salad
Leave a Reply

