Maharashtrian Beetroot-Onion Raita

We were served a beautiful, beautiful beetroot and onion raita while dining at Hotel Shreyas, on our recent trip to Pune. The colour of the raita was simply gorgeous, and the taste too. It was something new to me – for I have never used beetroot in a raita before. I was told it was a simple dish very commonly made in Maharashtrian households, and I knew then and there I wanted to try it out and make it a regular fixture at our meals, too.

A couple of days ago, I looked up some recipes on the Internet for beetroot and onion raita, and most were the same, calling for the same ingredients. I followed the crux of these recipes, with a couple of little variations of my own. The raita turned out just as beautifully coloured and tasteful as it had in Pune, thrilling me to bits!

DSC08581.JPG

Here’s how I made the raita.

Ingredients (serves 2,Β  as a side dish):

1 medium-sized beetroot, boiled, peeled and cut into small pieces

1 medium-sized onion, chopped finely

A large bowl of curd, neither too watery nor too thick, a tad sour, whipped for a few minutes

1 teaspoon oil

A pinch of asafoetida

Salt, to taste

1 teaspoon mustard seeds

2 green chillies, slit length-wise

A few stalks of fresh coriander leaves, finely chopped

Method:

  1. Combine the curd, salt to taste, slit green chillies, chopped beetroot, chopped onion, and chopped coriander leaves in a mixing bowl.
  2. Heat the oil in a pan, and add the mustard seeds. Allow them to splutter. Switch off the gas, and add the asafoetida to the hot oil.
  3. Add the mustard-asafoetida tempering to the beetroot and onion mixture in the mixing bowl.
  4. Mix everything well together. Let it sit for at least 10-15 minutes before serving.

Simple, right? I can’t get over that purplish-pink colour either!

If you haven’t ever tried out this raita, let me tell you you are seriously missing out on something great! I hope you will make this at home too, and that you will love it as much as we did!

19 thoughts on “Maharashtrian Beetroot-Onion Raita

  1. Hi, I am following all your posts and esp salad recipes…stopped over to comment on this one as I used to prepare this almost every single day for dinner. I think it’s called khoshambir in Pune and one more ingredient I add to this is teeny cut pieces of cucumber. The crunchy juiciness adds to the flavour.

    Like

    1. @Cramped Space

      Hey there! Thanks for the comment. Glad to know you enjoy my posts! πŸ™‚

      Yes, I am aware this is called ‘Koshimbir’ in Marathi. πŸ™‚ Oh, adding cucumber to this sounds like a great idea – will try that out the next time I make this. Thank you so much for the suggestion!

      Like

      1. I did too, two days back. And just before that googled for beetroot raita and got your post! πŸ˜€ I loved it and made it again yesterday!

        Like

Leave a Reply

