Some Recent Foodie Discoveries

Patanjali Orange-Flavoured Energy Bar

We have been on an ‘orange’ phase lately. We have been hogging on orange-flavoured chocolate, cake, pedas and what not. So, recently, when I visited a Patanjali outlet and spotted these orange-flavoured energy bars, I couldn’t help but pick one up. I am rather wary of buying Patanjali products usually, but this time around, I made an exception.

098
Patanjali’s orange-flavoured energy bar

The ‘energy bar’ turned out to be lovely. It was a mouthful of flavour, with orange peel, rice crisps, cornflakes, dates, raisins and oats. I loved the texture and the taste.They aren’t filling, but are nice and chewy and fragrant to munch on when you need a pick-me-up.

One such bar is priced at INR 30, which I think is pretty reasonable.

I might even pick up more of these bars later. If you have never tried this out, I would suggest you do.

Ginger-And-Soya-Tossed Mixed Vegetable Baos at Kylie’s Bao Shop, Church Street

The first time I had baos was months ago, at The Fatty Bao. I loved the experience of dining at The Fatty Bao, but I didn’t exactly fall in love with the baos per se. I never tried them out at any other place, though there are several places in Bangalore that make mean ones, I am told. Recently, though, when a friend had very lovely things to say about Kylie’s Bao Shop on Church Street, I decided to go and check them out. I am glad I did, because the visit seems to have kindled a new-found love for baos in me.

At Kylie’s, we ordered a Ginger-And-Soya-Tossed Mixed Vegetable Bao, a Tempura Vegetables Bao, and a potato-based bao whose name I now forget. While all of them were lovely, the ginger and soya one won hands-down for us. The bao was pillowy soft, and the slight sweetness in them made them just perfect for the spicy stuffing inside. The vegetables tasted delish, and the drizzle of mayo on top was just lovely. This particular bao has stolen my heart. πŸ™‚

DSC01056.JPG
Ginger-and-soya-tossed vegetable bao at Kylie’s

If you are planning on visiting Kylie’s, though, be prepared for the fact that this isn’t some fancy place with a grand ambience. It is a small outlet, with just enough seating for about eight people. Baos are popular Cantonese street food, apparently, and Kylie’s maintains the street food reputation of the bao, which is just as it should be. The taste and quality of the food here is great, and the place has good options for both vegetarian and non-vegetarian visitors, which I like. It is pocket-friendly as well – three plates of baos (with two baos in each, meaning six baos in all) cost us INR 300, approximately. We went to Kylie’s howling with hunger, and the baos filled us up for a few hours.

Highly recommended!

Open Butter Masala Dosa at Vasudev Adigas, HSR Layout

We aren’t new to Adigas. We have visited their outlets at different places across the city, several times over. I am, however, rediscovering my love for their open butter masala dosa. Though all Adigas’ outlets sell this dosa, I think it is the HSR Layout branch that makes it really fab. Of late, the open butter masala dosa seems to be the only thing I can order whenever I visit Adigas, so much so that my family is growing tired of seeing it on my plate! But then, it is lovely!

009.JPG
Open butter masala dosa at Vasudev Adigas, HSR Layout

This dosa is thick, like an uttappam, but is spongy soft. It comes with a generous drizzle of podi on top, over which there is a little potato stuffing, garnished with a little pat of fresh butter, grated coconut, carrot and finely chopped coriander. With the sambar and coconut chutney it is served with, it makes for a lovely breakfast, I think.

I urge you to try this dosa out, if you haven’t already! I’m beginning to fall in love with the piping hot pineapple kesari that Adigas dishes out, too.

An open butter masala dosa at the HSR Layout outlet is priced at INR 70. Slightly higher priced, I think, but I wouldn’t mind paying the price for the lovely taste of the dosa.

Premium Veg Burger Pizza from Domino’s

I know, I know, Domino’s latest offering – the burger pizza – hasn’t been getting rave reviews. However, we recently decided to try it out for ourselves, and loved it to bits. We ordered the Premium Veg version.

 

292
Burger Pizza from Domino’s

I think this is a great blend of pizza and burger, delicious-tasting at that. It is just right for a snack, quite filling, but not filling enough on its own to make for a lunch or dinner. Contrary to what a lot of people might expect from a burger, there’s no patty inside. This one is more like pizza toppings stuffed between two pizza-flavoured burger buns – I know that doesn’t sound very appealing, but the taste was, I tell you, great! At least, it suited our taste buds.

The Premium Veg Burger Pizza cost us INR 140.

Cadbury Bournvita Cookies

If you were anything like me as a child, you loved to snuck in spoonfuls of Bournvita from the jar in the kitchen when Amma wasn’t looking. I would love the grainy texture of the Bournvita and the chocolate-ey smell of it. I wasn’t very fond of drinking it up with milk the way it was supposed to, but I would love eating the powder as is. So, you can imagine the rush of nostalgia and delight that flooded me when I came across Cadbury’s Bournvita cookies in a grocery store, recently.

124
Cadbury’s Bournvita cookies

I loved the taste of the cookies. They were crispy, crunchy and tasted like Bournvita from the good old times. I paid INR 10 for a medium-sized packet containing about 10 biscuits.

Recommended? Yes!

Britannia Nutri-Choice Heavens Oats Orange-Flavoured Cookies

There! The orange flavour tempted me all over again. I picked up the Britannia Nutri-Choice Heavens orange-flavoured oat cookies on a recent trip to a grocery store, and loved them to bits.

096
The orange-flavoured cookies

I loved the texture of the cookies – the graininess of the oats, and the crispiness of them. And, of course, the orange!

A 75g packet of these biscuits cost me INR 20.

Highly recommended, especially if you are as crazy about the orange flavour as we are!

That’s about it for today, folks! Have you tried out any of the goodies featured in this post? How did you like them?

Would you like to tell me about your recent foodie discoveries, too?

Disclaimer:

  1. The views expressed in this post are all my own. All of the products mentioned herein were personally bought by us. I do not stand to any commercial interest from any of these brands by recommending them.
  2. Like I have said time and time again on my blog, I am wary of eating processed, packaged food and eating out. But then, I do make exceptions off and on. I don’t support junk food, but I do get cravings for it now and then, and occasionally give in to them. I would suggest you use your discretion before you choose to buy any of these products.
  3. Tastes are highly subjective. What I like, you might not like at all. So, again, I urge you to use your own discretion while choosing to buy any of these products. These are notes from some foodie experiments that we have been indulging in lately, and the views are personal.
11 thoughts on “Some Recent Foodie Discoveries

Leave a Reply

