Dining At The Fatty Bao: A Wonderful Experience!

The Fatty Bao, the relatively new gastro pub in Bangalore’s posh and beautiful Indiranagar locality, has been receiving rave reviews. The place (an offering by Chef Manu Chandra) has been on my radar for the past few months, but the OH and I never got a chance to visit, due to one reason or the other. In fact, we even thought of celebrating my birthday, recently, at The Fatty Bao, but when we reached the venue, they told us that they were very sorry, but that they couldn’t allow us inside with Bubboo. We were told the eatery is off limits to children below 10 years of age for dinner, as it is a gastro pub, which we didn’t know till we reached there. Anyways, all that is in the past now.

One fine day, last week, the husband and I suddenly decided to eat out at The Fatty Bao, considering how I had been raring to visit. Bubboo was dropped over at my parents’, and the OH and I geared up to have dinner at this eatery which we presumed would be quite noisy. It wasn’t noisy one bit, in fact. The restaurant actually had a nice, calm, warm and welcoming, happy and happening vibe, people were happily and quietly eating, and there was no music playing. I wonder why children aren’t allowed in, in that case – maybe it gets noisy at some times?

The Fatty Bao has indoor seating as well as tables on the terrace, of which we chose the former. The first thing that struck us, the moment we entered the restaurant, was the decor – it was quirky but tasteful, and very pleasing to the eye. The lighting is mellow, and it was actually a bit dark to take good pictures (we had heard a lot about the beautiful plating of food here, and so, were keen on capturing everything we ate on camera!), but I have heard that the place is flooded gorgeously with natural light in the daytime.

DSC08017
I loved, loved, loved this little alcove, and those lights just stole my heart away!
DSC08020
There couldn’t have been more perfect salt and pepper shakers for the restaurant than these cutie-pie ones!

The Fatty Bao serves Pan-Asian food – food from various places across Asia, including Thailand, Malaysia and China. We aren’t very familiar with the cuisines of most Asian countries, and hence, requested for recommendations from our server, who was more than happy to oblige.

That day turned out to one of many firsts – we did a lot of things for the first time that day, including having our first-ever sushi. We started our meal with sushi, their Asparagus, Tempura And Cream Cheese Sushi. I just loved the rolls – the flavours were so beautiful! The OH didn’t like them – sushi is just not his thing, he says after just one trial!

DSC08026.JPG
Asparagus, Tempura And Cream Cheese Sushi

Then came the Kimchi Baby Potatoes, which were absolutely gorgeous. This dish, again, had a beautiful medley of flavours, and this time around, both the OH and I loved it. If we had to recommend one dish from what we dined on at The Fatty Bao that day, this would be it!

DSC08027.JPG
Kimchi Baby Potatoes

Next came the baos, which had, in the first place, intrigued me and enticed me to visit this place. We chose the Mushroom And Bell Pepper Baos but, sadly, neither the OH nor I fell in love with them. Oh, they weren’t bad, not at all, but they just didn’t float our boat. I am dying to try out the other baos available here, though, and see how much I like them.

DSC08030
Mushroom And Bell Pepper Baos

After the baos came the Via Malaysia, a Malaysian ramen, eating which was an experience in itself. The ramen, a mix of beautifully spiced noodles and broth, is served in a large ceramic pot-like bowl. It was my first ramen ever, and I loved it to bits! It is just the sort of thing I would love to eat on a day when I want to eat something different, something yummy, but something hearty and filling. The Via Malaysia is made with coconut milk, and is delicately and perfectly spiced. I adored this dish, but the OH didn’t, sadly. We had a one-by-two portion of this dish each, and I think that was the right decision to take – a full portion (with all that coconut milk in it) might have been a tad too much for one person to take in.

DSC08032
The Via Malaysia ramen

Then, a Vegetable Fried Rice was served, with an assortment of sauces. I liked it, but wasn’t charmed by it. The OH loved it. (By now, you must have gotten an idea of how different our tastes are, no? 🙂 ). It was mild and simple, with a lot of vegetables in it, instead of just a whole lot of onions, like we have seen at many other places.

DSC08035
Vegetable Fried Rice

Lastly, we had the Halo Halo, a deconstructed dessert (my first-ever deconstructed dessert!) made of jello, caramelised bananas, raspberry sorbet, purple yam ice cream (Yes!), and vanilla flan. This one was literally Holi on a platter – it looked oh so beautiful and colourful. Both the OH and I liked the dessert, but didn’t love it to bits, as we had expected to.

DSC08043.JPG

Overall, I would say we had a fantastic experience at The Fatty Bao. Most of the food we had was lovely and, though the prices are on the higher side here, we would love to go back for more. There’s a lot more on the menu to be tried out – from a variety of Nigiris and teas to many other beautiful desserts.

This is a place I would heartily recommend. My pictures don’t do the place and the food justice, I think – you have got to experience both yourself. I hope you do!

12 thoughts on “Dining At The Fatty Bao: A Wonderful Experience!

  1. I read about The Fat Bao in Good Foods couple of years back and it had been on my try-out list ever since. The pictures are looking gorgeous and are tempting me to go visit this page very soon. Given how much we love Pan-Asian food, I’m sure we will love this place!

    Like

    1. @Greenboochi

      I am not sure if you got the place right. This is The Fatty Bao, at Indiranagar. The Fat Chef is in Cunningham Road, I think.

      You must try this place out soon. I have a feeling you will love it! Not just for the food, for the overall experience too. The decor is lovely as well. 🙂

      Like

  2. I agree with commenter above. As a general rule, I too avoid places that don’t allow kids. I’d prefer family friendly places.

    Having your parents around gives you so many opportunities for ‘having a life’ 🙂 Glad you’re able to indulge in simple pleasures like eating out once in a while!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fatty Bao was right behind our home in Bangalore and yet I never went there. The Boy has been there many a times and keeps telling me how good it is. Reading your post brought out fond memories from Bangalore, TGND!

    We love Pan-Asian food and the other place that serves great food is Mamagato. You must have been there, I suppose 🙂

    Like

    1. @Monkey Mind

      Oh, wow! Lucky you! That is such a wonderful locality to live in! 🙂

      I am glad my posts are bringing back some fond memories for you. 🙂

      I really wish you had gone to The Fatty Bao when you had the chance! It is really a lovely place, which serves some awesome food.

      No, I haven’t been to Mamagoto ever! It is on my list, though. Soon, I hope.

      Like

      1. Oh yes, TGND. It is such a pleasant locality. I fondly remember my evening walks around the park and our night walks around Indiranagar. We would pick a new route each night, and gawk at the pretty houses 😛

        Do try Mamgato. It’s lighter on the pocket compared to Fatty Bao (I think!). The ambience is quirky too. We loved our work-lunch dates there. Do order the bamboo shoots starter. YUM!

        Like

  4. Lovely food pics! Also slightly envious about being able to drop the baby at grandparents to enjoy it:) Sigh! That’s the dream. As a rule, I would not give my patronage to a place that doesn’t allow kids. Pisses me off for some reason.Hardly think its for the child – more for other diners. But guess exceptions can be made sometimes

    Like

    1. @Popgoesthebiscuit

      About eating at restaurants that do not allow children, I would say ‘To each his own’. I myself have mixed feelings about that – I am still figuring out what I really feel about that.

      That said, I think The Fatty Bao does allow kids in the afternoon. It is only after 8 PM that the eatery becomes off limits to kids below 10 years of age, as far as I know. It is a gastro pub that has an extensive alcohol menu – so I presume things can get quite noisy (and dirty, too) sometimes. Probably, in that case, kids would be best kept out.

      Yes, it is a gorgeous place and the food is just lovely. You must try it out at least once, if you get the chance. 🙂

      And, yes, exceptions can always be made. 😀

      We do realise how lucky we are to have one set of grandparents living nearby!

      Like

Leave a Reply

