Hung Curd Open Sandwich

My love of sandwiches is well known. I have often waxed eloquent about them on my blog.

Today, I am here to write about another favourite kind of sandwich of mine – the Hung Curd Open Sandwich. The hung curd takes a couple of hours to prepare, but after that, preparing the sandwich is a quick, quick, quick proceedure. ๐Ÿ™‚

The picture is not great, but the sandwich is, in taste. Trust me.

Here’s how I make it…

Ingredients (for 4 open sandwiches):

4 slices of bread

4 cups of thick curd

1 small-sized onion

A small bunch of fresh coriander leaves

Chilli flakes, to taste

Salt, to taste

Tomato ketchup, to taste

A little butter, to toast the bread slices

Method:

1. Tie up the curd in a thin, cotton cloth and hang it over the kitchen sink. In a couple of hours, all the water will have drained out of the curd, and you will be left with a thick, cheesy paste. Keep this aside.

2. Chop the onions finely. Keep aside.

3. Chop the coriander leaves finely. Keep aside.

4. In a mixing bowl, take the hung curd and add salt, chilli flakes and tomato ketchup to taste, chopped onions and chopped coriander. Mix well. Keep aside.

5. Toast the bread slices with a little butter on the tawa or in an electric toaster.

6. Spread the hung curd mixture evenly on all the bread slices. That’s it!

Note:

1. You can add a variety of stuff to the hung curd, according to your taste preferences – pitted black olives (chopped), chopped tomatoes, chopped jalapenos, grated carrot, oregano, and so on. I usually make it this way.

2. Don’t worry if you aren’t a big fan of curd. Curd that has been hung for a couple of hours hardly tastes like curd at all! It has a lovely smooth, cheesy feel to it, great for spreading on sandwiches.

3. I have heard of people spreading the hung curd mixture on two slices of bread and joining them together to make a sandwich, toasting it as a whole. I tried that a couple of times, but I feel the curd sort of dries up that way and doesn’t taste all that great. I prefer toasting the bread slices separately first and then spreading the hung curd mixture over them.

21 thoughts on “Hung Curd Open Sandwich

  1. My friend uses a similar method to make an awesome dip for chips. It’s a must-have favorite at all our get-togethers!

    Like

  2. This gives me one superb spread for my sandwiches. I also love sandwiches but I am the only one who does at home. So out of laziness to prepare for myself, I have started neglecting them. Thanks for bringing back that love.

    Like

  3. I once prepared carrot-curd sandwiches in a similar way. S hates curd and was not a big fan of those sandwiches though I loved them ๐Ÿ™‚ These are looking great! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment