Of A Little Boy And His Ganesha

So, we just got back from a sort of break at the in-laws’ place. We left home thinking we would stay for a couple of days – the OH, Bubboo and I – and ended up staying for 10 days. We didn’t even take extra clothes with us, because we had no intention of staying over. But stay over we did, and we did have fun too.

We ended up doing a whole lot of stuff out there, pigged out on a lot of lovely food, explored a lot, relaxed and walked and spent time with everyone in the extended family, read a bit, came up with a whole lot of ideas to write about, shopped, and what not. Bubboo was thoroughly entertained by everyone, and she entertained everyone with her antics as well. This is the first time I have stayed at my in-laws’ place for so long after we moved out and into our own house, in 2009. We must have stayed with my in-laws for a sum total of 4 months before we moved out. So, you can imagine how fraught with emotions my time there now was.

I came across so many relics there, from when the OH was a little boy, and they brought a lump to my throat. They reminded me that this mature, cool, composed person who is my husband was also a little boy, once upon a time.

This Ganesha idol, for instance.

082

This colourful idol came home once when the OH and his brothers and sister were kids, for Ganesh Chaturthi. The little-boy husband religiously decked up the idol with flowers every day and offered sweets to the Ganesha. When the time came for the Ganesha to be immersed in a lake, the little OH sobbed incessantly, hugged his mom’s feet and begged for the idol not to be taken away from him. My mother-in-law was told by her mother-in-law that tradition (the taking away of the Ganesha idol to be immersed in a lake) was no reason to make the children in the house unhappy, and so the family decided to let go of tradition. The Ganesha stay put in the pooja room of my in-laws’ house, and that is where it stays till date. Every year, on Ganesh Chaturthi thereafter, it is this Ganesha that is prayed to and offered sweets. Thanks to my mother-in-law’s meticulous housekeeping, the Ganesha is still in lovely shape, apart from peeling paint at one or two places.

Sweet, right?

These little anecdotes from the real life of real people – this is just what I love hearing. They tell me more about people than they tell me, through their words.

I will be back with more such stories shortly. Till then, you guys be good!

5 thoughts on “Of A Little Boy And His Ganesha

  1. That’s so sweet 🙂 Probably my mom would tell a similar story from few years ago. I asked my parents not to immerse the Ganesha idol one year and they have preserved it in their pooja room 🙂 Last year when S and I celebrated Ganesh Chathurdi for the first time in Bangalore, I decided not to immerse it and our Ganesha is sitting majestically in our pooja room 🙂 These little things make a lot of difference right?!

    Like

    1. @Greenboochi

      Yay! I was – just yesterday – thinking of writing to you. I was wondering where you had disappeared off to. It has been so long since I saw you here. And here you are! 🙂

      Kudos to you and your parents for taking one step towards eco-friendliness.:) My parents use the same idol every Ganesh Chaturthi too, and so do we at our place.

      These little things do give you a whole lot of satisfaction. You know you’ve done your bit. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

