Look what we found….

… in our quest to ‘try out some different foodstuff this weekend’! This, by the way, is an on-going quest for the OH and me, and we don’t ever seem to get tired of it.

Back to the point of the post, we ‘found’ a dosa stall at Koramangala that boasts of not 10 or 20 but…. 99 varieties of dosa! It is located right outside the Laxmidevi Park at Koramangala, amidst several other food stalls. We have noticed this stall several times before, but somehow never tried out their wares before. It so happened last weekend that the OH and I were visiting the park and got hungry. It was a good 2 hours before dinner time, so we decided to give the dosas a try.

We didn’t see a printed menu anywhere, so we proceeded to ask the stall owner what varieties he could dish out for us. He went on to rattle off a long list – paneer dosa, palak dosa, aloo fry, pavbhaji dosa, cheese panner masala, cheese mushroom masala, chinese dosa, and loads more. We were already drooling by the time he had finished about 15 things from his list, and amazed too: never before had we seen SO MANY varieties of dosas! We decided to go for one pavbhaji dosa between the two of us.

We saw a crowd huddled around the stall, and once we had a bite of the dosa, we came to know why! It was yummylicious! The chutney served alongside the dosa was very fresh and delicious!

The way the stall owner made the dosa was so enchanting to watch – he poured out the dosa batter on a hot griddle and when it was semi-cooked, he went on to put tomatoes and onions and pavbhaji masala on it, and mash it with a pavbhaji maker!

The dosas are quite reasonably priced (between Rs. 40 and Rs. 150, depending on the type you order), and they even stock soft drinks and bottled water. What I liked the most is that the stall is quite hygienic and clean. What more can you ask out of street food, eh?

The dosa turned out to be quite filling, and we returned home sated and excited. We now know we have a long list of ‘different’ stuff to try out! 🙂

PS: Here’s a video of the dosa stall, uploaded by News 9 TV. Check it out! 🙂

30 thoughts on “Look what we found….

  1. you should try the 99 variety dosa stall in basavanagudi. This is right opposite bugle rock. The specialty there is that the dosa is made on a charcoal stove, and the taste is very different because of that.

    Like

    1. @Rambler

      Hey, there! Been a long time! How are you doing?
      Yes, I should try that one out. Have heard a lot about that place.

      BTW, this guy at Koramangala also uses a charcoal stove, as far as I remember. However, I am not completely sure of it.

      Like

  2. Sounds absolutely awesome. I will have to go there this weekend then, my mouth is already watering. And I thought the best dosas here were at CTR and Vidyarthi Bhavan.

    Like

    1. @Sumitra

      Hey, Sumitra! Welcome here!
      I haven’t tried the dosas at CTR (what is that, btw?). I had dosa at Vidyarthi Bhavan a long time ago, and have totally forgotten the taste. Should go sometime again. 🙂

      Like

      1. CTR is Central Tiffin Room I think. It’s in Malleshwaram, the benne masala dosa is supposed to be famous there. There was quite a crowd!

        Like

  3. Hey! If you live close to Kormangala/Indira nagar there are s many more places I can give recco to!

    Try Tangarine in Indiranagar for sizzlers and steaks – yummmmyyyyy

    And for veg north indian food – you can go to Gramin in Raheja towers near Forum mall kormangala.

    The latest thats been suggested to me but havent been there yet – Sphagetti kitchen in Kormangala – this too in front of forum/shoppers stop…

    Check it out and let me know what you think 🙂

    Like

    1. @RS

      Hey, thank you so much for all the recos. I have been wanting to go to these places and try out the food. They have been on my list for quite some time now.

      Shall surely try and let you know how I found them. 🙂

      Like

    2. @RS: Spaghetti kitchen is great food, however, I balked at the bill – 2500 for two people.. Felt it was a little too much for a normal weeknight dinner-resolved to go there only for some special ocassion ,if at all!
      Oh and have any of you tried Krishna Cafe for the awesome awesome south Indian food 🙂

      Like

      1. @The enthu daydreamer

        Where is Krishna Cafe? Haven’t tried it so far.
        We did some research about Spaghetti Kitchen and found that it is pretty expensive. We were saving it for a special occasion. 🙂

        Like

  4. Hey,

    There’s one in HSR too 🙂 But the only thing is that he claims to have the same 99 varities but has only around 10.. Did not matter to the two perenially hungry foodies in us 😀 We hog there,and HOW!!! 🙂 But yes, I think I have seen and heard of the one you’ve spoken about !

    Like

    1. @The enthu daydreamer

      Oh, is it? I should check that out too then! 🙂
      I saw this guy prepare around 10-15 varieties of dosas, and heard him too. Don’t know about the rest. 🙂
      Do try this out sometime.

      Like

    1. @Scribby

      Yes, yes, our jaws dropped too, collectively. 🙂
      This place is awesome – you should definitely try it out when you are in Bangalore. Most welcome, dearie! 🙂

      I would suggest you also try out the following places in Bangalore:

      1. Lunch at MTR
      2. South Indian food at Kamat Lokaruchi
      3. Lal Baugh
      4. Vidhana Soudha
      5. Big Banyan Tree
      6. The Egg Factory
      7. Barbeque Nation
      8. Masala poori and bhel near Vidhana Soudha
      9. Cafe Pascucci
      10. Forum and Mantri Square malls
      11. Little Italy
      12. The Chocolate Room
      13. Blossoms Book House – I bet you’re gonna LOVE this one!
      14. Select Bookstore
      15. Page Turners Bookstore
      16. Cubbon Park
      17. Bookworm

      The list includes both foodie and non-foodie places. 🙂
      Do let me know how you liked these recos.

      Like

  5. I remember koramangala, i was there in the mall FOcus or something 🙂
    missed the place next time will make sure to be there …

    Like

  6. Awesome. Now if only u had been writing and I had been reading ur blog a few years back when i lived in koramangala :))) I’m bookmarking this post to try out the dosas next time in am in bangalore.
    **drooling long-distance**

    Like

  7. Hey u seem to hv found a nice place, Oh BTW I hv stayed in Kormangala n I just love the place…:( I dont stay there anymore and cannot dream about buying an appartment there NOW!!

    In one of ur previous posts I see u mentioning abt “The Choclate Room” oh I hv also visited the place in St Marks Road n it is yummilicious… Oh BTW u should try “Egg Factory” in St Marks Road as well.. 🙂 Keep exploring and keep writing 🙂 Do visit my blog too n lemme know how you feel abt it..

    Like

    1. @Deepsi

      Hey, there! Welcome to my blog! 🙂
      Do try out this place.. it is awesome!
      I love The Chocolate Room too.
      I have heard a lot about The Egg Factory, but I don’t eat eggs in any form except in cakes – so I haven’t been there yet. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment