Maangaai Paruppu

It is that time of the year when mangoes are available in plenty. I happen to love them, both the raw and the ripe ones. Sadly, I always get too busy to make the best use of the raw mangoes in the kitchen. This summer, though, I have promised myself to make the most of the season, to make the most of the tangy goodness of the raw mangoes available in the market, to experiment with them in the kitchen a lot more, and to learn many more dishes using them than I already do.

Here is the first dish for the ‘Raw Mango Series’, as I call it. Maangaai Paruppu, or raw mango cooked in toor dal. A lovely side to rotis and plain rice. Something that my Patti used to cook years ago. A recipe pieced together from family discussions, internet browsing, and good ol’ memories. I was amazed by how simple it was to make, actually.

What I used (to make enough for 2 people, as an accompaniment to plain rice):

1 raw mango, peeled and de-seeded, chopped into large pieces

Salt to taste

3 dry, red chillies

1 small cup toor dal

A pinch of asafoetida

1 tablespoon oil

1 teaspoon mustard seeds

A few curry leaves

1 teaspoon cumin

Red chilli powder, to taste

Turmeric powder, to taste

A handful of fresh, grated coconut

How I made it:

1. Pressure cook the raw mango pieces. Give it about 3 whistles. Keep aside.

2. Pressure cook the toor dal, for about 3 whistles. Keep aside.

3. Grind the grated coconut in a mixer with a little water. Keep aside.

4. In a deep-bottomed pan, heat the oil. Add the mustard seeds, and allow them to splutter. Add the cumin, dry red chillies, and asafoetida.

5. Add the boiled mango pieces, cooked toor dal, the coconut paste, curry leaves, as well as salt, turmeric powder and red chilli powder to taste. Mix well.

6. Let everything cook together on a medium flame, for 5-7 minutes. That’s it!

Please do tell me your favourite recipes using raw mango, will you? I’d love to hear of them!