De-Mystifying Home-Made Paneer| How To Make Indian Cottage Cheese 

A while ago, I made my first-ever paneer aka cottage cheese at home. It was a first for our family, in fact. While it wasn’t perfect, the first paneer  I made was quite good, a whole lot better than store-bought versions.

Since then, I haven’t bought a single brick of paneer off a supermarket shelf. Since then, I have made the cheese at home several times over,  and can say I have learnt the art of preparing it to a reasonable extent. 

The first paneer I ever made at home!

I’m so happy to have this one item off my grocery shopping list. Now, I know exactly what goes into my paneer

Today, I’m here to share the paneer-making method that works for me, in little, step-by-step instructions. If the task of making cottage cheese at home has always felt daunting to you, I hope this post demystifies it. I hope you begin to see it for the simple and beautiful thing it is, and make your first batch soon. If you are a paneer-making pro, I’d love for you to teach me a few tricks of the trade. 

So, here goes. 

Steps to make paneer at home:

1. For about 150 grams of paneer, heat 1 litre milk on high heat. I use Nandini full-cream milk. 

2. When the milk comes to a boil, switch off gas. Let the milk cool for about 2 minutes. Apparently, you get the best, softest paneer when you use milk that is a few degrees less hot than boiling temperature. (Alternatively, switch off gas when the milk starts bubbling and forming a top layer. In this case, proceed to the next step immediately, without waiting for the milk to cool down further.) 

3. Add about 4 tablespoons of white vinegar or lemon juice, one tablespoon at a time. When the vinegar or lemon juice is added slowly, vis-a-vis adding all of it at one go, the paneer turns out softer. 

4. Once you add the vinegar or lemon juice, wait for a couple of minutes, without disturbing the milk. By this time, the milk should separate and form whey. If the milk doesn’t split at all or doesn’t split fully – which can happen in case of homogenised milk – you need to add more vinegar/lemon juice the next time onwards. 

5. While you are waiting for the milk to split, layer a colander with a soft cotton cloth, and place this above a large vessel to gather the whey in. 

6. When the milk splits, pour all of it into the cloth-lined colander. Let it sit for a couple of minutes, by which time the whey will have fully drained out into the bottom vessel and all the solids would have collected in the cloth inside the colander. 

7. Place the cloth – with the solids in it – in a round or square box to give the paneer shape. The water from the solids will continue to drain out into the box below. Let the paneer sit this way, covered, for about 5 minutes. I usually throw away the residual water, but I hear it is full of protein, and can be used to make various delicious dishes. 

8. Now, the paneer is ready. Let it cool down fully, and then store in a dry, air-tight box. Refrigerate till you get around to using it. This paneer stays well, refrigerated, for up to 10 days. 

I hope this is helpful! Do write in to tell me if you liked it. 

18 thoughts on “De-Mystifying Home-Made Paneer| How To Make Indian Cottage Cheese 

  1. My homemade paneer starts leaving bits in the curry. I dont fry it. Just put it in directly. How do I get thoda hard paneer? I put a water jug on it too to harden but it’s still super soft.
    PS: Dahi gives the creamiest paneer possible!

    Like

    1. @Princessbutter

      How do you make paneer with dahi? 😮

      Let the paneer drain water for a longer time. Add all the vinegar or lemon juice at one shot, after the milk has boiled fully. Don’t let the milk cool down further. These things will get you slightly firmer paneer, as per what I’ve read on the Internet.

      Like

      1. Thank you! Will try.
        Use 3-4 tbsp khatta dahi in the same way as lemon or vinegar. One good point is dahi won’t leave the lemony or vinegar aftertaste that comes in paneer sometimes.

        Like

      2. @Princessbutter

        I have never tried making paneer with sour curd. Got to try some time. How exactly do you do it?

        That said, I have never felt the smell or aftertaste of lemon or vinegar in paneer, ever!

        Like

  2. Nice method. I also follow the same. One more thing.. while setting the paneer if you put some weight on it (to press it) it will come out just like the paneer we get in a dairy shop. It will not be crumbly

    Like

    1. @Prajakta

      I read on a few blogs by this paneer masters that weights aren’t really needed to set the cheese. So, I don’t use any either. My paneer still turns out nice, soft and block-like, not crumbly at all. It can easily be chopped. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

