10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me This Year

Christmas is just 10 days away, can you believe it?! I can’t. Really. I know I say that every year, but this year was waaaaayyyy too fast in flying by. Anyways, the fact remains that it is going to be Christmas very soon (I am yet to get into the festive mood, though!). So, here is a list of 10 books that I want to get my hands on very soon, which I wouldn’t mind Santa bringing me.

This list is an attempt to try to break out of the reading slump that I have been in lately. I just haven’t been able to find anything I read interesting, for about the last five or six months. I have quit making lists of books I dream about, and just pick up my reads at random, and that is one reason for the slump. Moreover, there has been a whole lot going on in life, and I haven’t really been focusedly reading. I have read just about 22 books this year so far, which is about 12 books too low as compared to my usual. I haven’t been liking this slump – it isn’t a normal phase for me to not be excited about books. This list is, therefore, a beginning at trying to get back my reading mojo.

I’m putting it out here just before Christmas, so if any of you want to gift me this festive season, you know exactly what to get me. Shouting out to the universe and all that! 🙂 I’m going to be real mean and send this list to the in-house Santa as well, because he doesn’t seem to be taking an effort these days to pick up thoughtful gifts for me.

So, here we go!

  1. Come Into My Kitchen – Ranveer Brar

This book has been on my mind ever since I met Chef Ranveer Brar at the Go Cheese gourmet cheese tasting event, recently. He sounded like such a humble, interesting person, and I would love to get to know him better through this memoir of his.

Apparently, Chef Brar loves fusion recipes – Indo-Chinese, Indo-European, that kind of stuff. I’m looking forward to getting a whole lot of interesting recipe ideas from his book, too.

2. Tiffin: Memories And Recipes Of Indian Vegetarian Food – Rukmini Srinivas

I heard about this memoir recently, and it sounds very simple, very Indian and very homely. I think I might like reading this one. Another foodie memoir cum cookbook!

3. Butterflies In November – Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir

I love, love, love the premise of this book. It sounds like a light, but thought-provoking read, just perfect for this time of the year.

4. Five Morsels Of Love – Archana Pidathala

This book has been on my TBR list for quite long now. It is available for sale only via the author’s personal website, and much as I would love to pick it up, it is priced quite high, which is what has restricted me. But then, considering that it is Christmas time and all, I am allowed to be a little extravagant in my dreams. And nothing is too expensive for Santa, of course!

5. Crumbs!: Bread Stories And Recipes For The Indian Kitchen – Saee Koranne-Khandekar

This is another cookbook-memoir that I got to know of recently, and loved the sound of. I have been scandalised by yeast for as long as I can remember, and haven’t gotten around to baking my own bread, much as I would like to. This book sounds like a sensible point to start that journey from.

6. Tales From Tavanti: An American Woman’s Mid-Life Adventure In Italy – Rebecca Bricker

Considering that I am a big fan of stories set in Italy (well, most of them anyways!), this book made it to my TBR list recently. I like the premise of the book – that of a middle-aged woman setting off on a journey of her own, after all her kids have flown the nest. Should be good!

7. Double Cup Love: On The Trail Of Family, Food, And Broken Hearts In China – Eddie Huang

I just love the sound of this book. It is about going back to one’s roots, trying to figure out what your homeland means to you, trying to discover yourself in the process. Plus, there’s a whole lot of food in it!

8. Hungry Monkey: A Food-Loving Father’s Quest To Raise An Adventurous Eater – Matthew Amster-Burton

I am a big-time foodie, if you haven’t figured that out for yourself by now. And I do want my daughter to love food the way I do. This, therefore, sounds like just the perfect read for me.

9. The Mysterious Bakery On Rue De Paris – Evie Gaughan

This time of the year, I usually curl up with a cosy read that makes me travel to far-off places in my head, put me in the festive spirit, and gear me up for the coming year. This book, I think, has all the elements that I need in such a book.

10. The Persian Pickle Club – Sandra Dallas

I was sold the minute I heard the name of this book! It is about a quilting club, friendships among women and how they help you survive the ups and downs of life. The setting of the book is Southern. I might like this one, I think.

Well, that is my list for now. What are the books that you are waiting to pick up in the near future?

 

4 thoughts on “10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me This Year

  1. Hey TGND, Archana Pidathala is my senior at college and that book Five Morsels of Love has toured round the world taking her along !
    She has penned down all her memories of her grandmother and her recipes !

    Like

Leave a Reply

