Pressure-Cooker Brown Rice Risotto

As promised, I am here with one of the recipes that I learnt at the Diabetic Masterclass that I went to some time back. This recipe is tried and tested in my kitchen, and has been tweaked to suit my family’s tastes and preferences.

This risotto tastes delish, with or without the grated cheese I used to garnish it. I made it in a pressure cooker, so cooking was super fast and easy, too. What’s more, this is super healthy as well! All of us know how good brown rice is for us, and the home-made vegetable stock I used to cook the rice is loaded with the goodness of a whole lot of veggies. What more would you want from a dish?!

023

Here is how I made the risotto.

Ingredients (Serves 4-5):

  1. 2 glasses brown rice (I used Daawat)
  2. Salt, to taste
  3. Black pepper powder, to taste
  4. 5-1/2 glasses of vegetable stock (I used this recipe to make the stock – yielded exactly 5-1/2 glasses)
  5. A handful of fresh green peas
  6. 1 medium-sized onion, chopped length-wise
  7. A small piece of cabbage, finely chopped
  8. A large piece of red pumpkin, peeled and cubed
  9. A few florets of cauliflower, each chopped into halves or quarters
  10. 6 cloves of garlic, peeled and lightly crushed in a mortar and pestle
  11. 2 teaspoons of olive oil
  12. Grated processed cheese to serve, as much as required (I used Amul)

Method:

  1. Take the oil in a pressure cooker bottom. Let it heat up.
  2. Add in the crushed garlic cloves, chopped onion, red pumpkin, cabbage and green peas. Saute on a high flame for a couple of minutes.
  3. While the vegetables are being sauteed, wash the brown rice in running water, thoroughly. Drain out all the excess water, and add the washed brown rice to the pressure cooker bottom.
  4. Mix well, and cook for a minute or two.
  5. Add in the vegetable stock, as well as the salt and pepper powder to taste. Mix well.
  6. Once the stock comes to a boil, close the pressure cooker and put the whistle on.
  7. Allow 3 whistles on high flame and switch off the gas. Let the pressure come down naturally.
  8. Serve the risotto warm, with processed cheese grated generously on top.

Notes:

  1. Brown rice typically takes a long, long, long time to cook, and even then is quite chewy. I used Daawat brown rice, because it cooks faster and is relatively less chewy. It makes for just the perfect texture for a risotto, neither overcooked nor overly chewy – just right.
  2. You can use whatever vegetables you like to make the risotto, but try to use red pumpkin. The red pumpkin adds a lovely sweet taste to the risotto.
  3. The rice for risotto is traditionally cooked in an open pan, but I have used a pressure cooker here to make things faster and easier.
  4. If you want your risotto to be more liquid in texture, add in more stock. Mine came out not firm, but not liquid either – it was just right for us. Feel free to tweak the vegetable stock quantity you use to suit your taste preferences.
  5. You could use cream or milk to make the risotto richer, but I avoided that in order to make a healthier version. If you are diet conscious, you could skip the grated cheese as well – the risotto tastes just fine without it, too.
  6. You could make the vegetable stock in advance and refrigerate it. So, when you are making the risotto, all you have to do is pull the stock out of the fridge.
  7. I made the vegetable stock in my pressure cooker too, using some zucchini, cauliflower, beans, carrot, garlic, onion, cabbage and bottle gourd. You could use any vegetables (and even cheese!) to make your stock
  8. My mother felt there was a lot of ‘vegetable smell’ in the risotto, considering that I cooked it entirely using vegetable stock. My husband and I loved it the way it was, though. If you are like my mother, you might want to cook the risotto using half water and half vegetable stock.
  9. This risotto is inspired by the original recipe shared with us at the Diabetic Masterclass I attended a while back. I have made several changes to the original recipe, though, to suit my family’s palate and for faster cooking. Do let me know in case you need the original recipe, and I could e-mail it to you.
3 thoughts on “Pressure-Cooker Brown Rice Risotto

Leave a Reply

