Spinach-Peanut Pesto Pasta With Roasted & Salted Almonds

I am no expert when it comes to making pesto or pasta. Though the OH and I heartily love pasta, we have sort of taken to eating it only out of home. This is mainly because I am clueless about how to make a good pasta (except for the simple pasta stir-fry that I make at home) and about how to make different kinds of pesto to go with it. Well, I have decided to change that situation pretty soon. 🙂

I recently thought of making spinach pesto with a twist – with peanuts, instead of with pine nuts or walnuts as it is usually made. I googled it and, sure enough, some bloggers had already tried it out. I went on to make the pesto with my own little twists and turns, and have to say it turned out beautifully. The pasta I made with the pesto, which I served with roasted and salted almonds, was a big, big hit at home.

Here are the recipes for the spinach-peanut pesto and the pasta, as I made them. Let me tell you that I was hugely inspired by this recipe here.

The spinach-peanut pesto

008

Ingredients (yields about 1 cup):

A fistful of fresh spinach leaves – put in a pan and add water till the spinach is submerged, boil for about 2 minutes, drain out the excess water. Keep aside the drained spinach and reserve some of the water

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup peanuts, roasted till crisp – no need to remove the skins

Salt to taste

2-3 teaspoons of amchoor powder, or to taste

2-3 teaspoons of black pepper powder, or to taste (You can even use freshly cracked black pepper)

3 cubes of processed cheese (I used Amul)

Method:

  1. Grind everything to a coarse paste in mixer, using a little of the water you reserved from boiling the spinach.
  2. Store in an air-tight bottle and use as required. Stored in the refrigerator, the pesto keeps well for at least 4 days.

Using the spinach-peanut pesto to make the pasta

002

Ingredients (serves 2):

1-1/2 glasses of pasta – cook in boiling water, on low-medium heat, with a bit of salt and olive oil added in, till al dente. Stir intermittently. Keep aside.

Salt to taste

Paprika to taste (or black pepper powder)

Amchoor to taste

About 2 tablespoons of red pepper sauce (I used Weikfield)

2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning (I used Keya)

4-5 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil

8-10 roasted and salted almonds, chopped (I used Rostaa)

Method:

  1. Heat some olive oil and add the finely chopped garlic. Let it stay in for a couple of minutes.
  2. Now, add the boiled pasta, 3-4 tablespoons of the pesto, more salt and paprika/black pepper powder, amchoor, Italian seasoning, and red pepper sauce. Add a little water if required – you could use the water reserved after boiling the spinach here. Mix well.
  3. Cook for about two minutes, tossing.
  4. Serve hot, garnished with the chopped roasted and salted almonds. The crunchiness of the almonds goes amazingly well with the soft pasta. You could decorate the plate with a little grated cheese too, but I skipped that.

You like? I hope you will try this out at home too!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

