Man Proposes…

… and God disposes, they say. And then, God goes on to propose another plan, I say.

A while ago, I was so irritated at the OH having to leave on a sudden work trip to Calcutta, alone. It was a trip that happened at the very last minute, and the bub and I couldn’t join him then. I had every reason to be miffed. We hadn’t gone on a proper trip in ages – the OH, Bubboo and I. The OH and I haven’t been getting alone time at all, which is not going down very well with me. And, well, this was Calcutta he was going to – my dream destination, the place I have always wanted to explore. And his trip was smack dab in the middle of Navratri, the best time to be in Calcutta, when all the Durga Pujo pandals would be set up and in action.

I ranted and raved, but nothing changed the situation. To add insult to injury, the OH was so strapped with work while he was in Calcutta that he didn’t have time to pick up the kind of souvenirs that I would liked from there. All he could manage to get was a box of sweets from an airport kiosk, and they only served to whet my appetite for Calcutta all the more.

Then, God decided to intervene. We started planning for a vacation during Diwali, when the husband was off work for four days. We decided to head to Calcutta, taking a couple more days of leave. It seemed to be a good decision, what with Calcutta being a major city and not too remote a destination, where we would have feared to take the bub. Also, the city had a whole lot of things that I wanted to buy, plus there was the lovely foodie scene there for me to explore. Then, the OH’s workplace asked him if he could be in Calcutta one more day and work at a client’s place there. He said yes. So, we ended up in Calcutta over Diwali, on a work-cum-pleasure trip. We happened to land there smack dab in the midst of Kali Pooja, with all of the city lit up and cheering.

We hadn’t known Kali Pooja was such a big thing in Calcutta before, and were thrilled at the chance to be there for the occasion. The gaiety, the chaos, the lights, the colours, the feast to the senses that is Calcutta during Kali Pooja more than made up for my angst at not having been able to witness Durga Pujo there. Had we planned to visit Calcutta during Durga Pujo, we would have been able to vacation for only two days, but this time around, we had the opportunity to stay put for almost a week! The way I see it – I had to let go of something, in order to receive something better.

So, yes, we just got back home from one of my dream trips. It wasn’t exactly a relaxing trip, but it was definitely good. I have my heart and head full of memories, stories, sights and sounds from the streets of Calcutta. I’ll be back soon to share them with you, for sure.

Till the next time,

Ciao!

PS: Hope you guys had a great Diwali!

20 thoughts on “Man Proposes…

  1. Can’t wait to read more! I’ve never been to Calcutta during the festive season despite have grown up in a city very close to Calcutta. I’ve heard tales and tales of the splendor and the vibrant ambience of the city during this time. Can’t wait to read yours now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @Smitha

      Hey there! How have you been? Been a really, really long time since we caught up, no?

      Oh, I didn’t know you grew up near Calcutta. Where?

      Kali Pooja in Calcutta is something that is best felt on one’s own, difficult to put in words. That said, I will definitely try my best to relate my experience here. 🙂

      Like

      1. I grew up in Jamshedpur, which puts up a mean Durga Puja and Kali Puja celebration of its own, but I’ve always heard that Calcutta is in a league of its own (understandably, I suppose)

        Like

  2. All sounds so wonderful! Come come soon and share more stories, cannot wait to see and read!
    Am so happy this trip happened for you TGND, very happy! 🙂 Hope God disposes the Turkey dream too 😛

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you got to visit your dream destination. And to think that it worked out so perfectly 🙂 Hope you managed to pick out your favorite souvenirs and stuffed yourself silly with delicious sweets! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

