North Indian-Style Tender Asparagus Curry

Suko, this post is for you. πŸ™‚ Here is the recipe for the tender asparagus curry that you had requested for, a while back.

So, about a couple of months back, I spotted a pack of fresh, fresh tender asparagus at Namdhari’s, and had to get it, though I had no clue what I would do with it. Asparagus has never been a part of our daily diet, and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to try cooking it, especially after reading about the numerous health benefits it possesses.

002 (5)

I have heard that the chopping of big asparagus shoots is a bit of a tedious process, but since the shoots I got were quite tender, all I had to do was chop them up. I decided to make an Indian-style curry with the asparagus, using spices that are typical of a North Indian kitchen. It turned out super delicious, and went wonderfully well with rasam rice. I think it would make a lovely combination with rotis, too.

006 (6)

Here is how I made the curry.

Ingredients (Serves 2):

About 200 grams of tender asparagus, chopped into 1-inch pieces, tips and all

1 medium-sized onion, finely chopped

2 tablespoons oil

2 teaspoons mustard seeds

1 teaspoon cumin seeds

A pinch of asafoetida

1/2 teaspoon turmeric powder

Amchoor powder, to taste

Red chilli powder, to taste

1 teaspoon garam masala

A few stalks of coriander leaves, finely chopped

A 1-inch piece of ginger, peeled and chopped

3-4 cloves of garlic, peeled

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a deep-bottomed pan. Add the mustard seeds and allow them to splutter.
  2. Add the asafoetida and the cumin seeds. Let them stay in for just about a couple of seconds.
  3. Add the chopped onion and fry for a few minutes on a medium flame, or till they start turning brown.
  4. Now, add the ginger-garlic paste. Saute for a couple of minutes.
  5. Add the chopped asparagus, along with the red chilli powder and salt to taste, garam masala and amchoor powder, and turmeric powder. Mix well. Sprinkle a little water, and cook on medium flame for 5-7 minutes or until the asparagus looks cooked. Stir intermittently.
  6. Switch off the gas and garnish with fresh, finely chopped coriander leaves.
  7. Serve with rasam rice or rotis.

Sounds good? I hope you will try this out too, and that you will like it as much as we did!

9 thoughts on “North Indian-Style Tender Asparagus Curry

  1. Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe! I will need to try it soon. I love asparagus, especially young, tender asparagus. I make a lot of curry dishes, but never thought to use asparagus. This dish looks tantalizing! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Whenever I find Asparagus, I just stir fry it in some olive oil and sprinkle salt before eating them off the pan πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ These stalks look so tender and fresh! Where did you get them?

    Like

    1. @Greenboochi

      I got the asparagus from Namdhari’s in HSR Layout. They were very fresh, and that is precisely why I couldn’t resist them. πŸ™‚

      Your asparagus roast sounds gorgeous. I am so going to try that out, the next time I get my hands on some good asparagus.

      Like

    2. Oh I love that too! It’s my favorite side to any American dish. Stir fried Asparagus, mash potatoes are perfect veggie options.
      I also enjoy snapping them to take the hard bit off. Kinda satisfying! Lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

