Dosa Pizza| Indo-Italian Fusion Recipe

Lately, I have been reading about a lot of moms preparing ‘dosa pizza’ for their kids, as a snack. Yes, pizza toppings on dosa, instead of on a maida base, making it a relatively healthier and guilt-free snack option. I was, of course, intrigued by this, and decided to make my own version for dinner yesterday. It turned out super delish, and was much loved by everyone at home.

I have been trying out different types of dosas for breakfast and dinner, and this one joins the list. I so know we are going to be having this often.

DSC02008.JPG

Now, let me tell you all about my version of pizza dosa, okay?

Ingredients (yields 5 dosas):

About 10 ladles of dosa batter

Home-made pasta/pizza sauce to spread on the dosa (Here‘s how I made it)

A few pitted black olives in brine (store-bought)

A few pickled jalapenos, chopped (store-bought)

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 small capsicum, finely chopped

4 cubes of processed cheese, grated (I used Amul)

Italian seasoning (store-bought), to garnish

Method:

  1. Get a dosa pan nice and hot, till water droplets dance on it.
  2. Spread two ladles of dosa batter on the pan, and spread 1 teaspoon of oil around it. Let the dosa cook without flipping it, till the top part looks done too.
  3. Now, turn down the heat to low-medium.
  4. Use a spoon to spread a little pasta/pizza sauce over the dosa. Then, add some chopped onions and capsicum, as well as some olives and jalapenos. Sprinkle some Italian seasoning and add some grated cheese.
  5. Cover the dosa and cook for about 2 minutes, or till the capsicum and onions are a little cooked and the cheese melts.
  6. Make all the dosas in a similar fashion, turning the flame to medium-high to cook the dosas on one side, and then turning it down to low-medium while the veggies cook, while the dosas are covered.
  7. Serve immediately. This dosa doesn’t really need an accompaniment.

Notes:

  1. My home-made pasta/pizza sauce already has tomato ketchup, sugar, red chilli powder and pepper sauce in it. So, the dosa turns out quite flavourful. If you are using store-bought pizza sauce, you might want to consider adding some tomato ketchup or pepper sauce to it.
  2. You could use oregano in place of Italian seasoning, too.
  3. I made this dosa on a non-stick pan, but i think you could make it on an iron pan or a cast-iron one too.
  4. I used only salad vegetables – i.e. onion and capsicum – in the dosa, which can be eaten raw as well. If you want to use other vegetables too, like mushrooms or baby corn, I think it would be a good idea to half-cook them first before you add them to the dosa.
  5. I am partial to Amul cheese, so that is the cheese I use for almost every cheese-based dish I cook at home. You could use other brands of cheese as well, though I personally prefer using processed cheese over mozarella or other kinds of cheese, for this dosa.
  6. I used two ladles of batter to make the dosas, instead of the usual one ladle that I use to make dosas normally. These dosas will, therefore, turn out just a bit thicker than ordinary dosas, and you will not be able to spread the batter out too much. That way, the dosas will turn out not too thin, and will not burn while you cover them for the veggies to cook.

You like? I hope you will try this out too, and that you will love it as much as we did!

4 thoughts on “Dosa Pizza| Indo-Italian Fusion Recipe

Leave a Reply

