If We Were Having Coffee…

… I’d tell you about just how amazed I am by the fact that there’s just one more month to go before the bub turns two. I can’t, for the life of me, understand where the time flew by. I am constantly astonished at just how much she seems to have grown lately, how much she seems to understand and talk about. Soon, in the blink of an eye, it will be time to send her to school. Till now, I thought of her like a little baby, but now, she is a little girl. Not a toddler, but a little girl. I feel bittersweet.

… I’d tell you that I feel all the more responsible for Bubboo these days. She is like a sponge of late, absorbing everything that she sees or is told to her. I think it is my responsibility, now more than ever, to introduce the right kinds of things to her – people, other kids, experiences, books, music, toys and what not. I feel like she is soon going to take off on a mission, to Play Group, and then she will be out there in the world. I need to give her the space to grow, at the same time being behind her to catch her whenever she stumbles, giving her just the stimulation she needs. This is also a time when I need to let myself sit back a little, and watch out for the things she likes and the ones she hates, so I can understand the sort of person she is fast becoming. I can’t say that is going to be easy, but then, it is inevitable. It is going to be an exciting journey, that is for sure.

… I’d tell you of how, of late, there is, in me, a hankering to do something. I am growing weary of letting myself take the back seat. I need to do something with my life – go to work, social service, travel, take up a course, I can’t figure out what I want, but I do want to do something that will make me feel like I used to feel earlier. I want to feel purposeful, I guess. I am waiting for that Aha! moment that will help me figure out just what it is that I really want to do.

… I’d tell you of how my health hasn’t been the greatest, lately. I’ve been down in the dumps with flu – fever, cold, and a horrendous cough. While I have been consulting with a doctor for the same, I seem to have opened a Pandora’s box – all the health-related issues that I brushed under the carpet earlier, before Bubboo, because my focus then was on having a baby. I desperately need to make my health my priority, and I am taking baby steps towards that end. I can’t say I have reached a milestone on that path but, well, at least I’ve started.

… I’d tell you of how I’m getting more and more attracted to the concepts of minimalism and simple living. When I think about it, I understand just how much clutter there is in my house, in my mind, and in my life. Spring cleaning is something I badly need, and I am doing a little bit of it at a time. (While on the subject of minimalism, you must watch this!)

… I’d tell you how I’m trying to get back on the Bollywood bandwagon, after I posted this. Some major CD- and VCD-buying happened over the weekend, and I can’t wait to begin to watch the movies I have picked up. I have also been trying to catch up on some music and some FM radio, so that I am not living under a rock any more.

… I’d tell you that I am currently reading Jojo Moyes’ After You, the sequel to Me Before You, a book that I absolutely adored. There have been a whole lot of negative reviews about After You around the Internet and, yes, it is a let-down after Me Before You, but this one does have its moments too. The brilliance of the author shines through in those moments, moments that make you pause and think and feel. And, for that, I am glad I picked this book up, in spite of the many brickbats that it has received.

… I’d tell you of how I am simply hooked to this song, ever since I heard it, very recently. I love, love, love the lyrics. If there is something I would like to say to Bubboo right now, it would be exactly the same as the lyrics of this song. I am amazed at the way this song seems to give voice to my feelings for Bubboo, something that I have been thinking about, but struggling to put into words. I am no good at translation, so I am not even going to attempt translating this beautiful Tamil song. Apologies to all non-Tamil speakers!

… I’d tell you of how the Ganesh Chaturthi celebrations in our apartment were lovely this year as well. All of us, including Bubboo, enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The lemon rice that I was in charge of turned out delish, and it wasn’t just me who thought so. πŸ˜‰ I am stunned that I managed to prepare something for about 35-40 people, mostly single-handedly! Yes, I can do it, and I am glad I attempted it, so that I know now.

… I’d tell you of just how much I miss the ‘Us’ that the husband and I used to be, before Bubboo. We love her to bits, and we can’t imagine life without her, but I do miss the way we used to be before – friendly, talking to each other all the time, planning a holiday at the drop of a hat, discussing everything under the sun, planning the weekly kitchen menu together, and doing up our house together. We were never overly romantic, but I miss our closeness. Having a child and the husband’s stressful job has done ‘Us’ in.

… I’d also ask after you and your loved ones, as to what you have been up to, and how has life been lately.

*********************

For Weekend Coffee Share, an interesting meme here. Do check it out!

 

6 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee…

  1. Minimalism .. That’s a great idea. Suddenly reminds me, i had it as one of my new year resolutions, no wonder it has drowned in the umpteen trips to malls and unlimited and frivolous things i keep buying;) . I guess time to put it back into head. Thanks for reminding. Lovely post πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I’d be so happy to have a coffee with you – but this was such a great catching up with you TGND! I cannot believe Bubboo is going to be 2 (whaaaaa!) but am sure you have had a wonderful ride πŸ™‚
    I want to read “After You” as well inspire of everything. I read the book because of you, watched the movie and loved it as well – now cannot wait to read “After you” πŸ™‚
    Minimalism is something am trying and failing at (atleast in the shoes department. Am not counting books because, well, they don’t count) – will watch that link.
    I hope you find that “aha” moment soon or just dabble in something in the meanwhile!

    Like

Leave a Reply

