Cheese, Cherry & Pineapple Sticks| Easy Snack Idea

When I was writing about these rava vegetable upma and cheese cutlets the other day, I was suddenly reminded of this lovely appetiser that was much the rage in Gujarati weddings, once upon a time, along with Litchi Limca. A memory came to me from long-ago times at Ahmedabad, of uniformed waiters moving around a lawn with trays laden with cheese, cherry and pineapple sticks, handing them to beautifully attired ladies and men, along with a couple of paper napkins. I remembered the burst of flavour that these little sticks would fill my mouth with. I remembered discussing with a friend how very simple it was to make these sticks. I was filled with so much nostalgia that I had to, just had to, go ahead and make the appetiser all over again, after years of not having had them ever. And you know what? They tasted super-duper awesome, gorgeous and flavourful, just as they used to all those years ago.

016

Here’s how I made them. You can use up as many cherries, pineapple chunks and cheese cubes as you want, and you will get as many sticks. This recipe doesn’t need any exact measurements.

Ingredients:

Cherries (the ones dipped in sugar syrup that you get in supermarkets)

Processed cheese (I used Amul), cut into cubes as big as you want them to be

Chunks of ripe, juicy pineapple, cut as big as you want them to be (You could even use canned, sugar syrup-dipped pineapple as well – I used fresh pineapple)

Toothpicks

Method:

  1. Skewer a piece of pineapple on a toothpick.
  2. Skewer a piece of cheese above the pineapple.
  3. Above the pineapple, skewer a cherry.
  4. Make as many sticks as you want, in a similar manner.
  5. Serve immediately or after chilling in the refrigerator for a while. They make for great appetisers on their own, or when served with juices. If you have guests coming over, you could make these sticks well in advance and keep them chilling in the refrigerator, to get them out when you are ready to serve them.

I’m sure these sticks are nothing new to most of you, but I don’t see them around me any more. If you spot them anywhere in Bangalore, please do let me know, will you? And do tell me about your own variations to the recipe, if you make these at home too!

8 thoughts on “Cheese, Cherry & Pineapple Sticks| Easy Snack Idea

  1. These are just the very best, for parties and generally as well. They do super even without the cherries since not many Indian households readily stock cherries. Try them with olives as well, they’ll be a hit if you guys like olives. 🙂

    Like

    1. @Babushka

      I bought cherries specifically to make these sticks. So, now you know how high on nostalgia I was! 🙂

      I have heard of a couple of my friends making these sticks with olives instead of cherries, but I don’t think we’d like them. We aren’t big fans of olives in food, except for in foccaccia and pizza and the likes.

      Like

      1. That’s great if you stock cherries, because this is what completes the dish anyway. We just have pineapples and cheese as is… this dish is that wonderful! But yay, you have cherries!

        Like

Leave a Reply

