Aval Dosai| Poha Dosa| Bun Dosa

You guys already know how attached I have grown to my breakfast. It is the first meal of the day, and I think it is crucial that I eat something lovely, something I love first thing in the morning. It kind of sets the tone for the rest of the day. And, lately, we have been on a quest to figure out different-from-the-usual breakfast options. This quest led me to make aval dosai/ poha dosa recently for breakfast, which made for a lovely, lovely breakfast combo with some kara chutney.

One of my aunts, who loves experimenting with recipes as much as I do and who is a great cook too, taught me how to make these dosas. They turn out pillow-soft and so very delicious – you have to try these out to know just what I mean. In fact, they are popularly called ‘Bun Dosa‘ because they are so very soft and spongy, like bakery buns.

015

Here is how I make the poha dosas.

Ingredients and method (for 1 large bowl of batter):

1. Soak 1 cup par-boiled rice, 1 cup raw rice, 1/2 cup urad daal and 1/2 teaspoon fenugreek seeds for at least 3 hours in water.

2. Soak 1/2 glass of poha separately in water for at least 3 hours. I use the thin variety of poha for this, the kind that we use to make aloo poha.

3. After 3 hours, drain out the excess water from the rice mix and grind it coarsely. When it is almost done, drain out excess water from the poha and grind it with the rice mix, to a batter, adding salt to taste and 2 green chillies.

4. Let the batter sit, covered, for at least 3 hours or till it ferments.

5. Then, spread a ladleful of the batter on a hot dosa pan in the centre, spread some oil around it, and cook covered with a plate for a minute. Then flip the dosa and cook uncovered on the other side. 

6. Prepare all the dosas in a similar fashion.

7. Serve them piping hot with spicy kara chutney.

Note:

  1. There are several different ways to prepare poha dosas, and you will find a whole lot of recipes on the Internet for the same. I have tried it out quite a few times myself, in a few different ways, and I have found this way to yield the spongiest, most delicious dosas. So, I have decided to stick to it.
  2. Any unused batter can be kept covered and refrigerated for up to 2 days.
  3. You could cook the dosas uncovered, too, like you would cook an ordinary dosa, but it is quite difficult to spread out the batter. You get the best dosas with this batter when you cook them covered, with just a ladleful of the batter poured in the centre of a hot dosa pan.

Try out these dosas, and do let me know how you liked them, will you?

9 thoughts on “Aval Dosai| Poha Dosa| Bun Dosa

  1. I just discovered there is an Indian Grocery store by my home here in Cali. I can’t wait to try out these new ingredients. I was obsessed with Dosa when I went to India last year and just the word makes me miss being there so much! I can’t wait to try these. So far my Indian cooking has consisted of idlis and chutney. Time to get more adventurous! Woohoo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

