Product Experience: Rose Geranium Hand-Crafted Luxury Bath Soap from SOS Organics

I make it a point to visit the Dastkar arts and crafts exhibition whenever it is in Bangalore, but it was my experience there only last year that, sort of, shaped me. If you remember, I wrote about my visit to Dastkar 2015 here, how it changed me, how I began to see hand-crafted and organic produce with new eyes, how I pledged to make informed buys whenever I could, and how I decided to try to go the natural way as far as the products and services we consume go. I started the latter in a small way at the fair last year, by getting some organic, hand-crafted soaps from Neev. I am happy to tell you that, almost one year since, I have stuck to the using of hand-crafted, organic soaps – I have been reading up about and experimenting with a variety of such soaps, and have had several really good experiences. 🙂

Today, I am here to tell you about one such hand-crafted, organic soap that I have tried and loved – the Rose Geranium soap from SOS Organics. They call it a ‘hand-crafted luxury bath soap’, and I think that is apt for the luxurious, fragrant bar that it is.

063

The things that I loved about this soap:

  1. I like the packaging of the soap. It comes in a cute little paper box, wrapped in a plastic cover to ensure that the fragrance of the soap doesn’t go off.
  2. The soap has a gorgeous smell of roses and herbs – it is just the right amount of fragrance, without being too overpowering, I think. The smell lingers around your home and your body for some time after you bathe with the soap, and I have come to love that.
  3. I like the look of the soap, too. It looks like something hand-made and natural.
  4. It lathers well and washes off easily.
  5. It leaves my extremely dry skin feeling lovely and moist, without making it look like it is dripping with oil either. And that is quite a feat, I tell you, considering just how dry my skin is, and the sheer number of soaps that I have used in the past which have either made my skin feel drier or have made it super-duper oily. After a bath with this soap, I do not feel the urge to apply a moisturiser on my body immediately – which is what usually happens with other soaps. My skin looks and feels better when I use this soap. Period.
  6. The soap does dissolve rather fast, but then, I am told that is the mark of a good soap. That is how a pure soap is supposed to be – it is not supposed to last forever and ever!
  7. The firm claims that the soap is made using 100% natural ingredients, like coconut oil, madder root, rose geranium and nettle leaf powder, and that it does not contain any chemicals, artificial colours or preservatives. And, having used the soap, I can, sort of, feel that it is pure and natural. The soap does not have the chemical, artificial feel that several other similar products do.
  8. Apparently, the product has not been tested on animals which is, again, something I love about it.
  9. The natural ingredients (especially the rose geranium and patchouli oil) used in the making of the soap make it great for dry skin, mood upliftment, and relieving stress and anxiety. Aromatherapy. I can vouch for the stress- and anxiety-relief part.
  10. Most of the products of SOS Organics come from its production unit near Almora, Uttarakhand, in the midst of the Himalayas. I think it is a great way of providing gainful employment to the villagers there. I love that I am, in my own small way, contributing towards this end. (Side note – Take a look at their Facebook page, and tell me if you aren’t charmed!)

070

The cons:

  1. The price is slightly on the higher side – INR 140 for a 100-gram bar. That said, considering the many benefits of the soap that I have experienced myself and the fact that it is hand-made, I don’t mind the price.
  2. I wish the packaging of each soap contained information about the special properties it contained and what kind of skin it would suit (normal, oily, acne-prone, dry, very dry, sensitive, dull, damaged).

Other details:

  1. The soap is easily available in most eco-friendly outlets across Bangalore. I bought it at Eco Store, HSR Layout – a shop that I have come to love. On a related note, do visit the store, if you haven’t already!
  2. You can buy the soap online too. Amazon India has it, as does Joy by Nature. You can even buy it straight off SOS Organics’ website – there are no shipping charges within India, but the minimum order value is INR 750.
  3. SOS Organics also offers a huge variety of other products, most of them infused with Himalayan goodness. I am yet to try out their other products, and am eagerly waiting for a chance to do so! Take a look at the wide range of products the firm has on offer here (Do read the ‘Pahari Gold’ part here!).

Have you used this product? I would love to know your thoughts about it, if you have. If you haven’t, I would definitely urge you to give it a shot!

Disclaimer: The views expressed herein are entirely my own, based on personal experience. I bought the product with my own money, and I write about it only because I loved it. There is no commercial motive associated with this post.

7 thoughts on “Product Experience: Rose Geranium Hand-Crafted Luxury Bath Soap from SOS Organics

  1. this one sounds good, will have to check it out since even I have dry skin 😛

    I too have started taking conscious steps towards using handmade stuff and it is indeed a pleasant experience so far 🙂

    Like

    1. @Amrita

      Thank you for the comment. 🙂 Please do pass on my regards to the women who make this lovely soap. It is so good to be associated (even if in this little way) with the people behind the production of the soap! Such a rarity these days!

      Like

Leave a Reply

