Some Bubboo Updates

I have a peacock for a daughter. She loves the rains as much as her peacock mother does. A while ago, we were out when it started drizzling. The little one lifted her face up to the sky, felt the rain drops fall on her face, and giggled with so much glee that we were amazed. All my mom wanted to do at that moment was to hold an umbrella over her, and all she wanted was to feel the raindrops on her face! 🙂

The other day, she rushed to the balcony when it started raining and stood there with her arms outstretched till she was entirely drenched. That was exactly what I would do as a child, too, most of the times when it would rain.

*******************

No hairpin, no hairband stays put on the little one’s head for more than a few seconds. She just has to remove it – it is like an itch that she has to scratch! As a result, she looks like a kutti bear most of the times. A rather thin bear, but a bear all right!

*******************

Do not, ever, make the mistake of lying down beside a toddler when she is in a playful mood, trying to relax a bit. She might mistake you for a life sized play gym. Ouch!

*******************

I dress up to take the little one out, and put on a pair of dangly earrings. She takes one look at me, notices the change from usual.

Amma…. todu…. azhaga irukku (Amma, earrings, beautiful)’ she says, broken words slowly creating a whole lot of meaning.

This is, I think, the first time she has spoken in almost complete sentence.

I am amazed. When did she grow up so much?

*******************

“When you are happy and you know it, clap your hands
When you are happy and you know it, stamp your feet”

I am teaching the little one how to clap her hands and stamp her feet and do all the actions that this ‘When you are happy…‘ song requires of her. She’s learning, and is rather a cute sight to watch, if I may say so myself.

I have a sudden vision of a bunch of little bears in a kindergarten school somewhere, all stamping their feet or trying to touch the sky at the same time, while their teacher keeps time. Now, that would be a sight to watch, indeed!

*******************

Ammu, school ku poreya? (Ammu, will you go to school?),’ the husband and I ask the little one.

An emphatic ‘Maatein (No, I won’t)’ is the answer, every single time.

Tough times ahead!

*******************

“Hmmm… hmmm… hmmm..” the little one fakes crying, with her hands over her face.

“No, baby, don’t cry, please don’t cry,” I say, and take her hands off her face. She looks up to me with a huge grin on her face.

In a minute or two, the fake crying begins again.

Appa!,” she calls out to the husband, and then continues to ‘cry’.

It is, then, the husband turn to say – “Don’t cry da! No, baby!”

Again, a wicked grin.

Such a drama queen!

*******************

Kollu paati kitte (Take me to great-grandmother),” the little one says on a loop through the day, till we relent and take her to visit. She is all smiles as soon as she gets to know that we are getting ready to take her.

Sometimes, she asks for her kollu paati as soon as she wakes up in the morning, as if she has been thinking of great-grandma all night long.

Kollu paati then plies her with murmura, teaches her how to sell ‘toffees’ with a basket on her head, asks her to show her where her eyes and ears are, gives her free access to the treasure trove near her pillow – including talcum powder, a hand-fan, bindis, and what not.

Kollu paati gets voluntarily kisses from the little one, while the rest of us don’t get them even when requested for.

The two share a lovely bond, indeed!

*******************

“There’s no power, baby!,” I say, “Current gone.”
Achacho,” the little one replies.

It has got to be among the cutest things I have ever heard.

*******************

A little bit of everything, from litchis and mangoes to idlis and chapatis, has to be thrown out of the balcony. It is, apparently, the little one’s gift to her favorite animal, the dog.

*******************

The husband cannot locate where his phone is, no matter what. Neither can I. We try calling from my phone, switching off the lights, hunting high and low, but nothing. About a half hour of searching later, I lift the little one’s hat off the floor, and below it is the phone. No prizes for guessing who put it there!

*******************

Baal Gopal would steal butter. My Vaal Gopal steals juicy, ripe mangoes.

I am doing something in the living room when she calls out to me. I look at her and gasp at the vision I see before me. She is holding a half-bitten ripe mango in her hand, juice spilling out of it and flowing to her elbow. She has mango all over her face and hair.

I am so thrilled! Way to go!

*******************

The little one comes running to me with a ball in hand. She hands over the ball to me, and I take it from her, lost in my own thoughts. ‘Amma, thank you,’ she says, and I realise I haven’t thanked her, the way I normally do every time anyone gets me anything (including her, when she fetches me something from her treasure trove). I rectify the situation immediately, with a cheery ‘Thank you!’, a hug and a kiss. She is all happy.

Kids do learn by what we do all the time, more than from what we tell them.

7 thoughts on “Some Bubboo Updates

Leave a Reply

