Using Up Leftovers| Chithra Vishwanathan’s Bread Uttappam

I am so glad to have come across greatness like Chithra Vishwanathan, in my quest to learn more about food! This elderly lady is renowned for her unique twists to routinely cooked food, and cooking with a variety of ingredients. She is also renowned for her smartphone app ‘AskChitVish’, a storehouse of beautiful, beautiful recipes. If you don’t know about her yet, I would urge you to read up!

I haven’t downloaded the app yet, but I am super duper keen on doing so. Considering that I am so technologically challenged, I have to wait for the OH to install it on my phone for me. Sigh! That said, I do find a lot of Chitra Ma’am’s recipes on the Internet or the foodie Facebook groups that I am part of. The Bread Uttappam recipe that I am going to tell you about today is her recipe, one that I found on one of my groups.

This uttappam recipe is a life-saver. It needs no fermentation, and can be cooked in a jiffy. It tastes wonderfully delicious and is highly simple to make. It is a great, great way to use up the few slices of bread that almost always go to waste whenever we buy a packet. It is wonderful for breakfast, and tastes great with thokku/ pickle/ chutney, though it doesn’t really need any accompaniment.

DSC09341.JPG

With permission from Chithra Ma’am, here’s presenting the recipe for the uttappam.

Ingredients (yields 5 medium-sized uttappams):

5 slices of bread (I used brown bread)

3/4 cup curd (slightly sour is better)

2 green chillies, chopped very finely

A few stalks of fresh coriander, chopped finely

2 pinches of asafoetida

2 tablespoons rice flour

1/2 cup rava (no need to roast it – I used the fine variety that you use to make upma)

Salt, to taste (Be careful while adding salt, as the bread will have salt in it anyways)

1 small onion, finely chopped

1 tablespoon oil for tadka + oil for making the uttappam

2 teaspoons mustard seeds

Method:

  1. Dip the bread slices in the curd one by one, squeezing out the excess curd and pressing the bread to a mush. Add the squeezed and pressed bread to a large mixing bowl.
  2. To the bowl, add any remaining curd, salt to taste, rava, chopped onion, chopped green chillies, chopped coriander, rice flour and asafoetida.
  3. Heat the oil in a small pan and add the mustard seeds. Allow the mustard to splutter. Add the mustard tadka to the mixing bowl.
  4. Mix evrerything well together. You should get a batter that is not too runny, but not very, very thick either. If you find the batter too runny, add a bit more rava and/or rice flour to balance it. Conversely, if you find the batter too thick, add a bit of water or curd to loosen it.
  5. Let the batter stand for 10-15 minutes, covered, so that everything gets well incorporated.
  6. Heat a non-stick dosa pan on high flame. When it is nice and hot, lower the flame a little and pour one ladle of the batter on it. Spread it out as much as you can – you might not be able to spread it out very thin, but that is okay. Spread about one teaspoon of oil around the uttappam, and cook on both sides till brown. Make uttappams from all the batter similarly.
  7. Serve hot as is or with your choice of chutney or pickle.

Note:

  1. The uttappam needs to be consumed immediately after making it, hot. It is not meant to be stored. Similarly, all the batter needs to be used up immediately after mixing it – it is not meant to be stored.
  2. I used a non-stick dosa pan for making the uttappam. I am not sure if I would have been able to get very good results on an ordinary dosa pan.

You like? I hope you will try this out, and that you will love it just as much as I did!

 

 

Leave a Reply

