Her Majesty’s Opinions

“Ammu, come, we’ll brush your teeth!”

“I won’t!”

***.

“Ammu, why don’t you have your breakfast?”

“I won’t!”

***

“Get off the washing machine. Let’s get inside?”

“I won’t!”

***

“Give Momma a kiss?”

“I won’t!”

***

“Give that bottle to Appa! It’ll break!”

“I won’t!”

***

“Hold Amma’s hand! You can’t run on the road like that!”

“I won’t!”

***

“Let’s go to sleep?”

“I won’t!”

***

That is how most conversations with Bubboo go, these days.

Clearly, the pint-sized one in our family has learnt to voice her opinion, loudly and clearly. Somewhere along the way, she has learnt that she can say no to things, and that it is super fun to do so!

So, this is how one-and-a-half looks like! I wonder how the terrible twos (that loads of people have warned me about) would be like. We aren’t really loving the anticipation.

6 thoughts on “Her Majesty’s Opinions

  1. The word ” terrible two’s” was coined for children who couldn’t express themselves either in words or actions …leading them to have tantrums… because the parents couldn’t understand. so if your daughter can communicate in any form her wants and needs you wont be seeing the phase.

    Stubbornness ….that though is another matter. the only way is to reason with them ….sometimes it works. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. @S

      Ah, okay. Thanks for the explanation. I need all the gyaan that I can get, these days! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, Bubboo can more than communicate her wishes. ๐Ÿ˜›

      How on earth do you reason with a 1.5-year-old?

      Like

  2. I have a 21 month old son who says “alla” for everything we tell him to say no. It is so cute that we often tell things to hear that response ๐Ÿ™‚
    Enjoy this phase, it is going to change soon. They forget these things so easily.

    Like

      1. My daughter used to be a sweet girl at this age and at 4 yrs, I have a lot of trouble making a do anything. This includes even going to bathroom to pee.
        I think some of the stubbornness is because of their boredom, which happens when they are idle for 5 mins. Then brace yourselves, 3-4 yrs is actually terrible and our patience is far more strained because we know that they do it to make us go crazy ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Like

      2. @Elizabeth

        Oh, even now, I have trouble going to the bathroom to pee! ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t even imagine how things are going to be at 3 or 4 years. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Yes, I agree a lot of the stubbornness is because of boredom. I have seen her be very sweet and easygoing when she is not bored.

        Like

Leave a Reply

