Chilled Sticky Chocolate & Nuts Pudding

I was trying to make something, but something happened on the way. I added a little bit of this to balance it out, but by then, something else had happened. So, I had to add a little bit of that. This happened a couple of times, and I ended up with something I hadn’t planned for at all. What I ended up with wasn’t bad, though – in fact, it was downright delicious. I, therefore, decided to always consciously repeat the same steps, consciously make the same mistakes, so that I would always end up with the same delicious result.

If you are wondering what that is all about, let me tell you that it is the story of how this pudding was discovered. This pudding I am going to tell you about today was discovered totally by accident, while trying to make something else entirely. The family and I were so pleased with it that we decided to keep the ‘accidental’ recipe. 🙂 It is a keeper, for sure.

DSC08953.JPG

This pudding is a chocolate-lover’s idea of heaven. It is sticky, but not chewy, wonderfully rich and sinful, and gorgeous in taste, if I may say so myself. It tastes best when chilled, and is perfect for the summer months.

I won’t keep you waiting any longer. I will leave you with the recipe for this Sticky Chocolate & Nuts Pudding, with the hope that you will try it out and discover just how lovely it is.

Ingredients (for about 6 servings):

1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk (I used Amul Mithai Mate)

30 g unsalted butter

1/4 cup mixed chopped nuts (I used only hazelnuts, but you could use a combination of different nuts like cashews, hazelnuts, almonds, pecans, walnuts and the like)

20 g milk powder (with added sugar)

Unsweetened cocoa powder to taste

Method:

  1. Mix everything except the cocoa powder together, in a bowl.
  2. Add cocoa powder little by little, till the colour and taste of the mixture looks chocolate-y enough to you. Ensure that you don’t add too much cocoa powder, as that will make the taste of the pudding bitter. You should get a gooey, chocolate-ey, not very runny  mixture in the end.
  3. Stick it in the freezer for at least a couple of hours, covered.
  4. Serve chilled, once the pudding has set a little. I set the freezer temperature at medium, so my pudding didn’t get completely hard. I got a slightly sticky, not too solid pudding, and I think it tasted best that way.

Sounds good to you?

Leave a Reply

