Summer Coolers: Litchi Limca

The summer heat is making a sinner out of me. The ever-thirsty me, with an ever-parched throat, is having to resort to all manner of iced, sugary drinks and calorie-laden, chilled desserts. My waist is not thanking me for all the load it is gathering, but then, it has been fun trying to come up with different types of coolers in my kitchen. πŸ™‚

I was thinking of what nice and refreshing drink to make for the family over the weekend, when I remembered Litchi Limca. With litchi juice and Limca as the major ingredients, this drink would sate many a parched soul in weddings, in Gujarati weddings. I have had my fair share of this gorgeous drink, back in Ahmedabad, but I am not sure if it just as popular in other parts of India.

So, much experimenting was done the past two days to try to arrive at something similar in taste and colour and, I can safely say, I have. Through permutations and combinations and additions and deductions, I have arrived at something very, very close to that lovely drink my friends and I used to so love, all those years ago. I am happy to report that the OH loved my version just as much. πŸ™‚

DSC08957.JPG

Here is how I made the drink:

Ingredients (for 2 glasses):

3/4 glass + 3/4 glass of litchi juice (I used Tropicana) – chilled in the refrigerator for a few hours

1/4 glass + 1/4 glass of Limca (I used the plastic bottle, but you could use the glass bottle, which is more fizzy and lemony) – chilled in the refrigerator for a few hours

1/2 lemon

A few mint leaves, for garnishing (I didn’t have any mint, so I skipped this, but I am sure it would have taken the taste of the drink to a different level altogether)

Ice cubes, to serve (optional) – you could even freeze litchi juice or Limca in ice cubes to serve with the drink instead of water-based ice cubes, which might make your drink watery if you add too many

Method:

  1. Fill 3/4 of two glasses with the chilled litchi juice.
  2. The remaining 1/4 of the glasses, fill with chilled Limca. You could alter this ratio as per your personal preferences, too.
  3. Squeeze a dash of lemon into each juice, ensuring that no seeds fall in.
  4. Mix well, and serve immediately with torn mint leaves and ice cubes (if using).

Have you tried this drink out ever? How do you like it?

What are you doing to quench your thirst, this summer?

3 thoughts on “Summer Coolers: Litchi Limca

  1. I have not Tried it BUT I DEFINITELY willl .. the sun is coming out more these days and it is getting warmer soon its will be hot – fingers crossed and then I surly am going to try and have this

    or other alternative is .. Gate crash your place .. BUt then it seems I will have to live for over a Month to eat and drink all that you have made over time and some you have promised me YAyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy πŸ™‚ he he he he he

    Like

Leave a Reply

