Foodie Discovery: Hari Super Sandwich

I know, I know, I know what you are thinking – But Hari Super Sandwich is hardly a discovery! It is one of Bangalore’s foodie institutions! I agree, totally. I will hasten to add, however, that this place was a discovery for the OH and me. Of course, we had heard of Hari Super Sandwich before, but we never visited till very recently. And when we did visit the place, we were instantly hooked.

If you happen to be one of those people who have never heard of this place, the likelihood of which is very rare, especially if you are a foodie in Bangalore, let me tell you that it is a small eatery offering a variety of sandwiches and chaats. They have a few branches across Bangalore, all small places which do not boast of a fancy ambience, but I am sure you will not mind that once you get your hands on their sandwiches. The sandwiches here are made on an old-fashioned dosa tawa placed on an LPG gas stove, and there are no fancy appliances in the picture – one of the things that draws me to this place. The food here is extremely pocket-friendly, all of the items being priced below INR 50.

Hari Super Sandwich sells a variety of sandwiches from the Hindupur region of Andhra Pradesh, as I learnt on my last visit there. Though they sell chaats, too, the sandwiches here are the main draw, and it is no wonder, considering how fresh and delicious they are. The eatery offers some unique sandwich flavours like Chocolate, Gulkand Cheese, and Cheese Corn Dahi Toast. I am happy to say that the OH and I have tried out most of the sandwiches on their menu, and we have loved each one of them – which is something that very rarely happens with us at a foodie joint.

If I have to list out my favourite flavours here, I would tell you to go for their American Sweet Corn Sandwich and the Cheese Chilli Corn Dahi Toast.

The American Sweet Corn Sandwich is loaded with sweet corn (Duh!), and makes for a lovely mouthful with the eatery’s signature sauces and chutneys.

DSC07866.JPG
American Sweet Corn Sandwich at Hari Super Sandwich

I never thought I would like the melding of curd with bread toast, but it turns out I do! This place has a variety of Dahi Toasts, all of them great-tasting, but the Cheese Corn Dahi Toast is a personal favourite. It has a beautiful cheese-y filling inside and is topped with fresh curd, loads of sev, carrots and onions. Gorgeousness!

DSC07871
Cheese Corn Dahi Toast at Hari Super Sandwich

The Chocolate Sandwich here is very famous, but we haven’t had it yet. Apparently, the making of this sandwich is a performance that many food bloggers love looking at and photographing – involving the slapping of a bar of chocolate and a huge slice of butter in between two slices of fresh bread, and then melting them on a smoking-hot tawa. I am eagerly awaiting the day when we will do the said photography and taste the said sandwich!

I can safely say these are some of the best sandwiches I have had in the city of Bangalore, ever. This is one place I don’t mind going to any day, any time – in fact, we made an entire meal of these sandwiches on Valentine’s Day. Yes, we’re a funny couple like that! 🙂

Please to do yourself a favour and visit this eatery, if you haven’t already! I can assure you you won’t regret it!

4 thoughts on “Foodie Discovery: Hari Super Sandwich

Leave a Reply

