One Item Crossed Off My Foodie Bucket List

And the aforementioned item is Bangarpet Paani Poori.

Untitled.png

I wonder how I never knew that such a type of paani poori existed at all, until very recently! That too, when there are so many chaat stalls all over Bangalore selling them!

For the uninitiated, Bangarpet paani poori (a whole range of chaats, in fact) apparently originated in Bangarpet, a small town in Kolar, Karnataka. I haven’t tried out the other chaats that come from this town, but now I can say I have had the paani poori. πŸ™‚ The Bangarpet paani poori is served with a liquidy stuffing made of dried peas, similar to the gravy that is served in the Bangalore Masala Poori. What is different, then, you ask? Well, the paani in this case is colourless, but quite pungent and flavourful. It has a strong flavour of green chillies to it, and is spicier than the paani we are used to in North Indian paani pooris – most definitely not for the faint-hearted. The pooris used too are different, melt-in-your-mouth soft. The pooris are meant to be gulped down fast, because they turn super soggy the instant the pea stuffing is put into them. Grated carrots, chopped coriander and onions are served with the pooris, as well.

Many told me I would like them, some told me I wouldn’t because I loved the proper North-Indian style paani poori way too much. My verdict: I liked them. πŸ™‚ That said, they were a tad spicier than I like my paani pooris – I actually like the paani to be a nice mix of sweet, sour, and spicy. I might not have the Bangarpet version often, but I am definitely going to have it again!

Now, I am all set to try out the other chaats of the Bangarpet variety. I am dying to try out the Bangarpet paani poori at home, too!

If you have never had Bangarpet paani poori, do rectify the situation soon! And if you are a frequent eater of the chaats that originated in this small town, please do tell me more about them, will you?

 

 

12 thoughts on “One Item Crossed Off My Foodie Bucket List

  1. By the round of it, they look super spicy. I get smoke out of my ears even with the regular North Indian Pani Puri, so can’t imagine trying this one.
    Maybe, I can cheat and try a few w/o pani first πŸ˜‰

    Like

      1. Yeah i know. . I did read the post.☺☺

        I just commented saying I had too many when I came last time to India ..

        I did not mean I had the bangarpet pani poori ..

        Like

Leave a Reply

