Tuver Lilva, Ringan, Valor Ane Bataka Nu Shaak| Pigeon Peas, Brinjal, Indian Flat Beans And Potato Curry, Gujarati-Style

You guys know about my love of seasonal produce, right? If a particular fruit or vegetable is in season, if the markets are flooded with it, then you can be sure I would not have been able to resist the temptation and would have bought some. I often read up on the Internet and learn how to make use of the seasonal produce I have bought. The raw mangoes that overflowed in the markets earlier this year found their way into a variety of dishes in my kitchen. I learnt how to make gobi manchurian so that I could put the white beauties I found at my usual sabzi-wallah‘s to good use. Recently, when juicy country tomatoes were in season, I used them to make thokku. This is the season for tuver lilva or pigeon peas, one of my favourites when it comes to vegetables. How could I resist grabbing some at my recent visit to our nearby vegetable seller?

A lot of Gujarati dishes make use of pigeon peas, including my favourite Undhiyu. This season, though, I have decided to go beyond the Undhiyu and learn different recipes that use these peas or use them to recreate some dishes from my past. What I did with the first lot of the peas was make Tuver Lilva, Ringan Ane Bataka Nu Shaak, a Gujarati curry that uses brinjals and potato, apart from pigeon peas.

Tuver Lilva, Ringan Ane Bataka Nu Shaak is something we used to make all the time when we were in Ahmedabad, especially in the winters. This curry can be made with a number of variations, but this style is what I like best. This is half-way Undhiyu, with the same spices, but with just four vegetables.

Here is how I made it..

Ingredients (for 2 people):

  • About 200 grams of shelled fresh pigeon peas/ tuver lilva
  • 3 medium-sized potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 3-4 medium-sized brinjals, cubed
  • 12-15 valor/ Indian flat beans/ hyacinth beans, with the strings removed and cut into two pieces
  • Salt, to taste
  • 3 tablespoons of grated fresh coconut
  • 1 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • Red chilli powder, to taste (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon ajwain
  • 2 teaspoons oil
  • 3 green chillies, chopped
  • A small bunch of fresh coriander leaves, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons til
  • 5 large cloves of garlic, peeled
  • Asafoetida, a pinch
  • Powdered jaggery, to taste (If you are not a big fan of the sweet taste in your food, you could omit this)
  • 1 tablespoon garam masala (I used MDH brand. You could alternatively use dhania-jeera powder, ie the powder of coriander seeds and cumin, commonly used in Gujarati food)

Method:

  1. Grind the coriander leaves, green chillies, garlic and coconut in a mixer to a paste, using a little water. Keep aside.
  2. Heat the oil in a small pressure cooker. Add the mustard, and allow to splutter.
  3. Now, add the ajwain, til and asafoetida.
  4. Before the ajwain and til burn, add the chopped valor, shelled tuver lilva, cubed potatoes and brinjals. Saute for a minute.
  5. Now, add the paste that you prepared earlier, along with salt and powdered jaggery (if using) to taste, red chilli powder (if using), garam masala or dhania-jeera powder. Mix well.
  6. Add about half cup of water. Mix well. Check for seasoning.
  7. Close the pressure cooker and put the whistle on.
  8. Let it cook for about 4 whistles on a high flame. When the steam has fully escaped, open the pressure cooker.
  9. Serve the curry with phulkas or chappatis. If you want to, you could garnish the curry with some finely chopped coriander leaves and fresh, grated coconut.

If you don’t want to make this curry in a pressure cooker, you could make it in a pan/kadhai too. I know of a lot of Gujaratis who make it that way. I go the pressure cooker-route as it uses less oil.

Do you like the sound of this dish? Have you tried this before? How did you like it?

I will be back soon with more tuver lilva recipes. Till then, stay tuned! πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Tuver Lilva, Ringan, Valor Ane Bataka Nu Shaak| Pigeon Peas, Brinjal, Indian Flat Beans And Potato Curry, Gujarati-Style

  1. Looks fantastic! This is a popular winter staple back home. I usually make this when I get a fresh batch of tuver from home. Can’t wait for December when I make the trip home! The gujju in me is craving this so much now. Also, do try kachoris made from fresh tuver if you get a chance. They are lovely! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Srujan

      I am waiting to try this sabzi with a few different variations. Tuver lilva ni kachori is on my list, too. πŸ™‚

      Why don’t you make this sabzi at home? There is an abundance of tuver in the markets in Bangalore now!

      Like

      1. I tried a couple of times. But Dear Husband had an unfair, I admit, prejudice to the spotted tuver available here. So, after a couple of times I gave up. Now I get some from home, freeze it and make some as long as it last! 😦 Or if I get ones without the spots, I buy some. But that somehow happens very rarely.

        Like

Leave a Reply

