My First Meal From A Food Truck: The Lalit Food Truck Company

Food trucks are all the rage in Bangalore these days. If you have been looking around, I am sure you would have noticed the increasing numbers of food trucks in the city – like S.W.A.T., Square Ruth, Ya Habibi, Gypsy Kitchen, The Great Indian Bhukkad, and The Spitfire BBQ Truck, to name a few. The Lalit’s The Lalit Food Truck Company is a new entrant in this arena.

The OH and I were recently running some errands in HSR Layout when we noticed the swanky red-and-yellow Lalit truck. At first, we were not sure if it was a van carrying food supplies to the Lalit – Bangalore or a food truck. We, the ever-curious cats, decided to find out – rather, I dragged the OH to the van to find out. It did turn out to be a food truck that had some delicious items on the menu. I was hungry already, and the menu made my mouth water. We HAD to try the food out – come on, it was THE Lalit’s truck!

DSC06455
The food truck

Apparently, the truck comes in every evening at around 6.30 PM, near NIFT at HSR Layout. There is a fixed menu every day, mostly consisting of Mexican grab-and-go food, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. Most everything is priced between Rs. 120 and Rs. 200. The truck is an initiative by Lalit that began in Bangalore just about a month ago, and then in Mumbai. There are plans to expand to other cities, too – Srinagar, Goa, Kolkata, Chandigarh, Khajuraho, and Udaipur, for example.

We ordered a Crispy Tacos and a Double-Decker Nachos & Cheese Burger, from the vegetarian part of the menu. It was exciting to see our food being prepared on the truck, in front of us. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, we are kids that way! The food was served on paper plates that were super easy to carry around and eat from on the street.

DSC06457
Crispy Tacos
DSC06458
The Double-Decker Nachos & Cheese Burger

We found the tacos strictly okay, and not as great as we had expected them to be. The burger tasted good, and I liked it, though I felt that it was not ‘foodgasmic’, if you get what I mean.

Quantity-wise, I felt one dish was good enough for one person, as a snack. The rates were okay, too. Hygiene was well-maintained, thankfully. The staff was perky and friendly, which is always good when you eat out, I say.

I have had food from the back of a Maruti van at Law Garden, Ahmedabad – food cooked elsewhere, brought to the venue in the van, reheated on a portable gas stove, and served in tinfoil containers. This was my first brush with a proper food truck, a cool, happening food truck, that is. The ‘novelty’ factor of the experience was quite high for me. (The OH, Zen aatma that he is, remains unaffected by such things, in spite of the fact that he has never eaten at a food truck before, either. ๐Ÿ˜› )

I am sure we will be going back to this place again, to try out the other items on the menu.

Interested? You can follow them here.

10 thoughts on “My First Meal From A Food Truck: The Lalit Food Truck Company

  1. Hey thats cool even I want to own a food truck and cook for people on the go but no one is there to support me so that I can do it hope to get it in place at least one in my lifetime.

    Like

  2. I have never had food from a food truck! Your post wants me find one right away.. I would love to try it for the experience ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sure S would have remained zen like as well – your OH and S are so similar (which we already know! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    Like

  3. yessssssssssss you know in london we have this guy who does the same thing, I should have taken a pic, he is a english bloke who has lived in india for 20+ years and now has opened this on the road food thing where he serves Indian goodies .. yessss yessssssssssss ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @Bikramjit

      I do know the food truck concept is very popular in the USA and the UK. It is picking up fast these days in India, especially in Bangalore.

      I hope to eat at some other food trucks too in the near future, and share my experiences here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

