Sweetcorn & Spring Onion Rice

Greenboochi, this post is for you! šŸ™‚

Some time back, I picked up a bunch of spring onions at the neighbourhood supermarket because they were too fresh and lovely to resist. I had no clue what to do with them, but I thought I would definitely end up finding some recipe I could use them in. Serendipitously, I ran into this recipe by Greenboochi the very same day. It sounded simple and delicious and, without wasting any time, I went ahead and used the onions to make Sweetcorn & Spring Onion Rice.

As promised, the dish turned out to be simple but flavourful. The husband and I loved it to bits. I think it is the kind of rice that your tastebuds need when they are tired and need something hearty but simple to lift them up. I made it on a drizzly, lazy day for lunch, and it was just perfect for that sort of day.

Unlike Greenboochi, who cooked this rice in a pan, I made it in a pressure cooker. Lazy me, yes! I don’t think it altered the taste of the dish in any way. I also added carrots and peas to the rice, just because they were lying unused in the refrigerator. The next time, I plan to make this only with sweetcorn and spring onions because I want those two flavours to come out more strongly.

Here is how I made it…

Ingredients (for 2 people):

A small bunch of spring onions, cleaned thoroughly and chopped finely – the greens and bulbs separately

1 medium-sized red onion, chopped length-wise

1 medium-sized carrot, peeled and chopped finely

A handful of fresh sweetcorn

A handful of fresh, shelled green peas

Salt, to taste

2 tablespoons oil

Crushed peppercorns, to taste

1 glass of basmati rice

Paste of 1″ piece of ginger (peeled and chopped) and 4-5 garlic cloves

Method:

  1. Wash the rice thoroughly and drain out the excess water. Keep aside.
  2. Heat the oil in a pressure cooker. Add the chopped red onion, and saute for a minute or so.
  3. Add the ginger-garlic paste. Saute for a minute.
  4. Now add the spring onion bulbs, carrots, and sweet corn. Add salt and crushed peppercorns to taste. Saute for 3-4 minutes.
  5. Add the green peas and spring onion greens. Mix well. Saute for one minute.
  6. Add the drained rice. Mix well.
  7. Add 2 glasses of water. Close the pressure cooker and put the whistle on.
  8. Let the rice cook for 2 whistles.
  9. Once the pressure goes down, open the cooker and serve the rice hot.

Notes:

  1. This dish can be made using plain rice instead of basmati rice. I felt that basmati rice adds to the flavour, though.
  2. I used a stone mortar and pestle to crush the peppercorns. This can be done in a mixer too. I find pepper crushed in a stone mortar more flavourful than pepper powder that has been made in a mixer. Of course, that could be just me!
  3. The measurement for the water here is given in accordance to our personal tastes and preferences. You could change it, in order to make the rice cook more or less, as per your preferences.
  4. This rice doesn’t really need an accompaniment, and can be served by itself. That said, I think it would go well with a hot-and-sour soup or manchurian in gravy.

Like it?

6 thoughts on “Sweetcorn & Spring Onion Rice

Leave a Reply

