Unconditional Love

Dearest Bubboo,

You are growing up so, so, so fast, I can’t keep pace with you, with all the new things that you are learning and doing every day. 🙂 I can’t believe you are going to be ONE next month!! Where exactly did the time fly?

Of late, you have learnt to crawl to me, wherever I am in the house, put your arms around my feet so that I am rooted to the spot and can’t move. Then, you look up at me with puppy-dog eyes or a goofy grin, as if to say ‘Lift me up, please na, Momma?’ How do I resist so much of sheer cuteness? I don’t, at least nine out of 10 times. I pick you up, hug you tight, and play with you till you are sated, and then move on to my chores.

The cuteness continues even after I lift you up. Then, you go to no one else. You want Momma all to yourself. Any attempt to extricate you from my arms is met with a turning away of the face, putting your arms around my neck, and patting me on the chest. The message is clear – ‘I will be here, nowhere else. I want to be with Momma now’.

You are not really a clingy baby. You love playing with your Appa and your grandparents for hours together. But then, there are times when you want me to be around. There are times when you just want to be cuddled by me, just like that. The way you communicate that makes me feel on top of the world, as if I am the princess of a very rich kingdom. You make me feel that way.

Sometimes, I am so busy trying to be my own person and being a mother to you that I end up looking like something even the cat wouldn’t drag in. Hair all out of place, eyebrows not done, face unwashed, and so on and so forth. You still have that special smile of yours for me. If that cannot make me feel special, what else will? You teach me to look beyond the exterior of a person, to what he/she really means to you.

I am so glad you are mine. I am grateful for this chance to mother you. I adore you for the unconditional love you shower on me.

May there be a lot more cuddles and hugs, in the times to come.

Loads of love,

Amma

4 thoughts on “Unconditional Love

  1. One next month ! TGND ! it’s just like i read that she was born ! Where does time fly ?
    Aww…Such a lovely mumma-baby bonding !
    Enjoy and cherish every moment TGND ! The kids na…they just grow up too fast !

    Like

  2. Beautifully expressed 🙂 I am so glad I read this post today – made me happy from within 🙂

    My amma keeps telling me how I used to do something similar to what Bubboo keeps doing to you. Once I crawled all the way to the bathroom at 5 in the morning just to be with Amma who was washing clothes. First baby has this bond I guess 🙂

    Like

    1. @Greenboochi

      Thank you for the lovely words, GB. I’m glad the post brought back some special memories for you. 🙂

      All kids do this to their mothers, I think. Just that this is the first time for me, and it makes me feel a whole lot royal and rich and special!

      Like

Leave a Reply

