August Is Here…

… bringing with it the start of the festive season in India.

Before long, it will be time for Ganesh Chaturthi, one of the festivals I enjoy the most. I love seeing the Ganeshas in their various avatars – a doctor, a computer operator, Spiderman, a little baby in the lap of Lord Shiva and Parvathi Amma! Not to forget the Ganeshas depicting the current social issues – these ones are made with a special amount of creativity. I love watching the huge decked-up Ganeshas of different associations – dressed up with American diamonds and flowers and what not. I love the simple Ganeshas too – the Plaster of Paris ones with their bright colours, and the earth-friendly mud ones made of bio-degradable clay or turmeric.

I love the lead-up to the festival – the arrival of gorgeous varieties of sweet-smelling flowers in the local market, window displays going the Ganesha way, the preparation of idols at various hubs across the country, and so on. Whenever I get the chance, before the festival, I stop by for a few minutes at these little hubs that prepare these varied Ganesha idols. I love watching the work in progress, by craftsmen who have been doing the task over and over again for years, for generations. This year, I managed to do that at Devasandra, near New BEL Road, where artisans live in little huts, make earthen pots and ‘drishti bommais‘ and garden accessories, as well as Ganesha idols during the festive season.

Let me take you on a visual tour of the place…

DSC05038
All lined up…
DSC05042
Various forms in the making!
DSC05041
God made Man, and then, Man made God…
DSC05046
I wonder what colours will adorn these idols, and what decorations. Where will each of these Ganeshas go to?
4 thoughts on “August Is Here…

  1. Wow.. I love love love your city tour pictures. Thank you for showing me different shades of this city! πŸ™‚

    Ganesh Chathurdhi is one of my favorite festivals too πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

