Baby Shower Memories

I am not a big one for traditions, though I am quite traditional in some ways. Contradictory – that’s me.

In the 8th month of my pregnancy, my parents and the OH wanted to organise an elaborate valaikaapu seemandam (the Tamil equivalent of a baby shower), and I concurred. I wasn’t too keen on a big celebration before the baby arrived, but wanted all the protection that the pooja and the best wishes the extended family and friend circle could offer me. The ceremony went off very well, indeed, and at the end of the day, I was exhausted but happy. Peaceful, too, that I had done what I could.

Black saree, neem twigs, carefully chosen colourful glass bangles, sweets, coconuts, flowers, silver and golden coloured bracelets – all the paraphernalia was brought in. I shamelessly used the ceremony as an excuse – and the pregnancy, too – and wangled a couple more sarees. šŸ™‚ The SIL gifted me one more saree for the poo-chootal, a tradition that typically follows the valaikaapu seemandam. In case you are feeling jealous, let me hasten to add that after Bubboo’s arrival on the scene, I have almost disappeared from the house – every visitor now comes home to visit Bubboo, all gifts are for her – not that I mind that, of course; just saying. šŸ™‚ I do miss those days when I was pregnant and pampered silly!

Just the day before the baby shower, the sunflower plant in our home decided to bloom. A gorgeous, yellow sun opened up in our balcony, thrilling us to bits. It seemed as if nature was blessing us, too, signalling that all would be good soon.

That's the saree that the SIL got for me. I chose colourful bangles for the valaikaapu, so that I could wear them with all my dresses. They are supposed to be worn till the day of the delivery, after all!  Picture Courtesy: The event photographer
That’s the saree that the SIL got for me. I chose colourful bangles for the valaikaapu, so that I could wear them with all my dresses. They are supposed to be worn till the day of the delivery, after all!
Picture Courtesy: The event photographer

A little girl from the family was called in after the valaikaapu, and was asked to pick out any one thing out of the appams and modaks that many ladies had tied into the pallu of my saree. She picked up an appam, which is supposed to signify the birth of a girl child, and a girl child it did turn out to be!

Now, I am the kind of person who cannot even wear an earring or chain if she wishes to sleep soundly. The valaikaapu bangles are supposed to be a sort of protection for the baby within the mother’s womb, though, and she is supposed to wear the whole lot of them till she delivers. I gave up my ideas of comfort and discomfort this one time, and did wear all of the bangles till I was admitted to the hospital for delivery.

Memories from the days of my pregnancy rush in, as I write this post. Please to, therefore, excuse the incoherency in this post, if you find any.

I do hope to share all of them memories with Bubboo some day.

20 thoughts on “Baby Shower Memories

  1. These are some beautiful memories. I always thought that the bangles for Valaikaappu were so since by the 7th month or so, the baby would start hearing sounds and we want the baby to hear the pleasant jingle of the mother’s bangles.

    Like

  2. That is such a stunning picture! Very vibrant colours and such beauty.
    The air is thick with your memories all through this post. Guess that’s what has made it so heartfelt. šŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Beautiful TGND. Really really beautiful šŸ™‚ Lovely saree and bangles too! By the way, I have heard that the glass bangles help the baby relate to the mother and everytime he/she hears the sound of the bangles, it keeps him/her active. In our household, the seemandam is held during 7th month and again in 9th month šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I just loved the color of your saree, its gorgeous šŸ˜€ You should totally use up occasions like this to get yourself few extras. No offense at all šŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

