Veggie Pasta

Sometimes, you resign yourself to eating certain things only outside of home. It never turns out right when you try to make it at home, even though it is a quick-fix dish for a lot of others. It is so not your dish to make. Veggie pasta was one such dish for me. I could never make it well enough at home. I had to resign myself to eating the cream- and cheese-loaded versions at restaurants.

Did you notice the past tense? All of the above changed for me, yesterday. Yesterday’s night was a rainy, stormy one, and I was desperate for something hot and yummy and different from the usual, for dinner. The husband has been away on work in Delhi, sending me one picture after another of the gorgeous foods that he has been hogging there, while I haven’t been eating anything exciting lately. An e-mail from him yesterday – containing pictures of noodles and soups and momos and what not – was the proverbial last straw that broke the camel’s back. The sambar and rice left over from lunch just didn’t appeal to me then. I remembered the packet of pasta I had bought some time back at the grocery store, and which was lying in my kitchen unused. I decided to make use of it last night, to get imaginative with the recipe, to cook it the way I *thought* it should be cooked rather than to look it up on the internet or elsewhere. The stars aligned just the right way and the pasta turned out just perfect. Needless to say, a picture of it was sent to the husband immediately, with a big smirk. πŸ™‚

Here is how I made it…

Ingredients (To serve 2):

2 big cups of pasta

Salt to taste

Oregano to taste

Chilli powder to taste

1 medium-sized onion

4-5 cloves of garlic

1 large capsicum

4 large tomatoes

A few pitted black olives in brine

Sugar to taste

2 tablespoons oil

Tomato ketchup, to taste

Red pepper sauce, to taste

1 cube Amul cheese

Method:

1. Boil the pasta according to the instructions on the packet. Usually, this involves taking the pasta in a deep-bottomed pan, adding enough water to cover the pasta as well as salt, and cooking on a high flame till the pasta is al dente i.e. cooked but not overly so. At this stage, remove the pan from heat and pour the pasta into a colander. Drain off all the water, then run cold water over the pasta. Let the pasta remain in the colander for a while.

2. Chop the olives finely. Chop the onions length-wise. Chop the capsicum into large pieces. Keep aside.

3. Chop the tomatoes and peel the garlic cloves. Grind these into a puree.

4. Take the tomato-garlic puree in a deep-bottomed pan. Add salt, sugar and chilli powder to taste. Be careful while adding the sugar and chilli powder, because the recipe calls for tomato ketchup and red pepper sauce too, which are sweet and hot respectively. Let the puree cook on a medium flame for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. By this time, the puree will start to thicken. When it reaches the consistency of a sauce – not too thick and not too thin – take off heat. Keep aside.

5. Heat the oil in a deep-bottomed pan. Add the onions and capsicum and cook for a while. Ensure that the vegetables are cooked, but not overly soft.

6. Add the cooked pasta, the tomato sauce that you prepared earlier, and olives at this stage. Add oregano, tomato ketchup, and red pepper sauce to taste. Mix well.

7. Check for seasonings and adjust. Let everything cook together for about 5 minutes, on a low flame, stirring gently occasionally.

8. Serve hot, garnished with finely grated Amul cheese.

How do you make pasta at home?

6 thoughts on “Veggie Pasta

  1. These days we have pasta at least once a week – I try different forms – from creamy white pasta to pasta salad to stir fried pasta to red sauce pasta. I have made baked pasta a few times too. While red and baked pasta are the favorite of S, I have come to love pasta stir fry πŸ™‚ Glad your pasta turned out to be great!

    Like

      1. Sure TGND. I have been planning to update my food blog for such a long time. Will get to it over this weekend. If that doesnt happen, will share the recipes over mail.

        Like

  2. I have a standard recipe.
    1. I put tomatoes in the oven cut in halves with garlic cloves and sprinkle olive oil for 30 minutes.
    2. The tomatoes are squishy by then and I just mish mash them lightly rather than pureeing it (Since I like the texture of mish mash and also it makes the plate a little fuller leading to less pasta and more sauce ).
    3. I chop veggies saute them and mix everything together with pepper (black and white), salt, paprika powder and a bit of oregano (Not those pizza pack ones) and yeah fresh basil (home grown)
    4. Since I love my meat.. I add cooked chicken mince to it. If you want it creamy you can add a spoon of cream

    Your version looks yummy too..

    Like

Leave a Reply

