Just Read

Rose Water And Orange Blossoms: Fresh & Classic Recipes From My Lebanese Kitchen – Maureen Abood

I am always interested in reading about different cultures, specificially when it comes to food. Rose Water And Orange Blossoms seemed to be an interesting way to know more about Lebanese cuisine, something I knew nothing about. I have loved most of the food-related memoirs I have read, where anecdotes from the author’s personal life are intertwined with recipes from his/her family kitchen. So, when Netgalley had a copy of this book available for review, I grabbed the chance immediately.

Sadly, the book turned out to be more of a cookbook than a memoir. There are anecdotes, yes, and there are bits and pieces of history about various Lebanese dishes, too, but these are few and far between. The recipes form the major bulk of the book. The photographs accompanying the recipes are a treat to the eyes.

All in all, I would say the book did offer me a glimpse into a world thus far unknown to me. The memoir part of it was very interesting to me, but the recipes were not, considering I am not a big fan of cookbooks. I wish the author had made the book part memoir-part cookbook – I am so sure I would have loved it big-time then!

My Berlin Kitchen: A Love Story (With Recipes) – Luisa Weiss

I liked the sound of My Berlin Kitchen as soon as I spotted it in a bookstore last year. Somehow, I never got around to buying it until very recently. The book didn’t disappoint at all.

Written by the author of food blog The Wednesday Chef, My Berlin Kitchen is a foodie memoir. The chapters speak of the author’s life – alternating between USA and Berlin, largely. I liked the way the author writes, delving deep into her memories and her soul, creating something which most readers can relate to. I liked the way she has used food to introduce various phases of her life, and the people who have been important to her. I liked the way the recipes at the end of each chapter add meaning, add more richness, to her words.

The author’s anxiety was off-putting for me at times – she seems to be constantly cribbing about something or the other. Towards the end of the book, though, she does seem to pick herself up and focus on the things that she, rightly, ought to be grateful for. That said, I liked the fact that the book is so honest – that is how a memoir is supposed to be.

I noticed quite a few spelling mistakes and proofreading errors in the book which, I felt, should have been rectified.

All in all, this was quite an enjoyable read, I felt. I would recommend the book to those of you who like food memoirs; this one is well-written at that.

Have you read any/both of these books? What are your thoughts about it/them?

What are you reading at the moment?

One thought on “Just Read

Leave a Reply

