The Little Girl Who Loves Cloth

In the city of Bangalore, there lives a little girl who simply adores cloth. Give her a piece of cloth, and she keeps herself entertained for quite some time – if she is in the mood for it, of course. 🙂 Most of the times, she is up for playing with cloth, though.

Nappies, dresses – hers and her mother’s, handkerchiefs, wiping clothes, bedsheets, pillow covers, towels, napkins – she plays with anything and everything, as long as it is made of cloth.

Her Amma and Appa need to keep a close eye on her. They never know what piece of cloth their daughter would have pulled over her face at any given point of time.

They say, “Silence is golden. But when you have a baby, silence is suspicious.” The little girl’s Amma and Appa are, slowly, understanding the truth that lies in this adage. In their daughter’s case, complete silence for more than a few minutes usually involves a piece of cloth.

**********************

Dreamzandclouds had nominated me for the Five Photos Five Stories (FPFS) Challenge some time back. I accepted.

From her blog, “FPFS challenge requires me to post a photo each day for 5 consecutive days and attach a post to it. It may be a fiction or non-fiction piece, a poem or simply a short paragraph. Next, each day I have to nominate one fellow blogger to carry on this challenge. The person nominated further can either accept it and continue the challenge or reject it – it is entirely his/her choice.

This post is the first of the five-part series for the Challenge. I am going to tweak the rules a little bit and not do the photo posts for five consecutive days. Instead, I will do them for the five days that I have the physical and mental bandwidth to do so.

I am not nominating anyone here, but if you love the sound of the Challenge, do feel free to take it up!

26 thoughts on “The Little Girl Who Loves Cloth

    • The Girl Next Door

      @Keirthana

      Aren’t most kids that way? I think so.. We give them expensive toys and gadgets to play with, but we can just as well train them to play with little things around the house and bits and pieces from nature. Of course, once they start going to school, things change.

      Like

  1. perspectivesandprejudices

    Your daughter is a cutie 🙂 Hey, I noticed that she’s wearing cloth diapers – if you don’t mind, could you write about that sometime? The choice between disposable v. cloth diapers… I don’t have kids yet, but its something that I’ve been thinking about (for when I do).

    Like

    • The Girl Next Door

      @Perspectivesandprejudices

      Thank you! 🙂

      I am hardly qualified to write about cloth diapers re. I use disposables most of the time for Bubboo. I find they let her sleep more peacefully as against using cloth diapers. When Bubboo is well rested and I know that she won’t sleep for some more time, I remove the disposable and put on cloth diapers. She starts crying after a single pee.

      I have found that alternating between cloth and disposable diapers helps me get some work done at home and lets Bubboo sleep peacefully too. At night, I use only disposables.

      Like

Leave a Reply

