Just Read

The Art Of Arranging Flowers – Lynne Branard

Ruby, in her forties, is a lawyer-turned-florist in the small American town of Creekside. Her sister Daisy’s death has caused her to withdraw into a shell, and the flowers are her only love and life. The townspeople believe that Ruby has magical powers – that she can make things happen with her flowers. It is Ruby they come to when they want flowers for someone recovering from an illness or to propose to someone. Ruby’s business is flourishing but, at the core, she is sad. The Art Of Arranging Flowers is Ruby’s story, of how a lonely little boy, a dog called Clementine, the local veterinarian and a scientist who has flown to the moon, as well as the tight-knit community of Creekside, help her recover.

The premise of the book sounded quite interesting, which is why I bought it. I found it an average read, though. The storyline is cute and the book does have its high moments, but overall, it was way too sad for my liking. It tries too hard to fit into the genre of magic realism, but it doesn’t. A few incidents in the book feel very unrealistic too, as if straight out of a movie. Though the book had a lot of potential, it didn’t do anything for me.

Maybe you’ll like the book more than I did?

The Cherry Cola Book Club – Ashton Lee

The Cherry Cola Book Club is about Maura Beth, the young red-headed director of the Cherico Library in the small American town of Cherico. The library has not been seeing many visitors lately, and the local government wants to close it down, allocating the respective funds saved to the building of an industrial park, instead. Maura Beth is determined not to let this happen and, as a last-ditch attempt to increase circulation, starts The Cherry Cola Book Club. The book club meetings promise great food and literary conversation, but will they really help Maura Beth achieve her goals? You have to read the book to find that out!

I loved this book! It is full of Southern charm, eccentric characters and all. There is romance in the book, but clean and sweet, with not a hint of vulgarity. And, then of course, there’s the library and the book club meetings to love. I loved the agenda of each of the book club meetings, and would have loved to personally be a part of them. The book highlights the sad situation of many public libraries across the world today, and that touched a chord with me.

Recommended? Definitely. I can’t wait to read the rest of the Cherry Cola series now!

Have you read any of these books? What are your thoughts about them?

What are you reading at the moment?

9 thoughts on “Just Read

  1. Smitha

    I haven’t read either of these books. I might just put both on my TBR to try out. One day. When I have more time on my hands. Just too many books on my kindle at the moment.

    Tell me, have you read Terry Pratchet? I haven’t and have to try one to start with.

    Like

  2. Suko

    I’m glad you enjoyed The Cherry Cola Book Club. It sounds like a great choice for those who love books, including book bloggers and book club members.

    Like

Leave a Reply

