Just Read

Important Artifacts And Personal Property From The Collection Of Lenore Doolan And Harold Morris, Including Books, Street Fashion, And Jewelry – Leanne Shapton

Being the sucker for ‘unique’ books that I am, I was attracted to this book by Leanne Shapton as soon as I learnt about it. I have enjoyed most of the few graphic novels I have read, and was in the mood to add one more to the list. I was not disappointed.

Important Artifacts is the story of Lenore Doolan and Harold Morris, a couple, told graphically. Lenore and Harold’s relationship has been going through some twists and turns, the latest turn of which has been towards a break-up. Some of their personal belongings are ready to be auctioned off, and the book is in the form of the auction catalogue. The few pictures of the stuff that is being sold, and their descriptions, cleverly say a lot about Lenore and Doolan and their relationship.

I found the book to be a short but interesting read, one that I greatly enjoyed. Harold comes across as a jerk and the character of Lenore, while evoking sympathy, also speaks of positivity and smartness. This is a story that I could relate to, and I am sure many modern readers would.

Recommended? Yes. Don’t go looking for too much depth in the story, though.

Angelina’s Bachelors – Brian O’Reilly

When her husband Frank dies suddenly of a heart attack, Angelina is at a loose end. She doesn’t know what to do with herself and the rest of her life. Losing her job doesn’t make it any easier – it only increases Angelina’s worries about how to make ends meet. She turns to something she has always loved – cooking. She ends up cooking huge quantities of food, which finds its way to the homes of her neighbours and other friends in her locality. The delicious food has the neighbourhood asking for more, and leads Angelina to a job of cooking for a few bachelors who crave homely food. How this ‘bachelors’ club’ changes her life is what makes up the story of Brian O’Reilly’s Angelina’s Bachelors.

I was thoroughly disappointed with the book. The story is way too predictable, and the twists and turns too Bollywoodish. The descriptions of the food looked forced, as if put there just for the sake of putting them in the book. The recipes that have been incorporated too are very complicated and not homely in any way.

This is not something that I enjoyed, but maybe, someone else would like it better than me?

Have you read any/both of these books? What are your thoughts about it/them?

What are you reading at the moment?

4 thoughts on “Just Read

  1. not read these books.

    right now I’m reading The Time Traveler’s Wife… going very slow 😦 I mean I’m going very slow on my reading due to routine work etc 😦

    Like

      1. it is a little confusing, to and fro type book but interesting so far, the reader would certainly want to take it to finish 🙂 will let you know once I’m done!

        Like

Leave a Reply

