The Food Tag

Vidya‘s foodie tag has been doing the rounds on blogosphere, and I have had myself a fun time reading all the answers. I have been sorely tempted to do the tag myself, considering that it brings back many beautiful foodie memories.

So, here goes:

1. What is the first dish that you cooked?

Masala dosa. I was in college when I started cooking whole-heartedly. I was worried about how it would turn out, but it was pretty decent. Tasty, even.

2. What is the first dish that you cooked for your better half? (If you are not married, you can tell us what you are planning to cook for him/her)?

The OH and his family had come to Ahmedabad for the typical arranged-marriage girl-seeing ceremony. I remember I made jeera rice and tadka dal for them. It was appreciated. πŸ™‚

3. Which food were you reserved to try first but then liked later it since you acquired the taste?

Bitter gourd. I used to hate it, once upon a time, but started liking it after getting wedded to the OH.

The same goes for fruits, fruit juices, rasam rice and pongal. All of these were ‘sick people’s food’ for me when I was single, and I began appreciating their nuances after the OH entered my life.

4. What is your comfort food?

Plain rice and dal tadka, Maggi noodles, rasam rice, vegetable khichdi or phulkas and aloo sabzi.

5. Which dish of yours you like the best?

Pani poori, dal tadka, bread pizzas and sandwiches.

6. Which dish of yours your family likes the best?

The OH loves my lemon rasam and beans curry, pani poori, lemon aval, grilled sandwiches, poori saagu, pongal and bread pizzas.

7. What is your favorite street food?

Most chaats, especially of the North Indian variety.

8. Tell us about any of your kitchen disaster story.

I once made keerai kootu with urad dal (instead of moong dal) and sambar with chana dal (instead of toor dal). Needless to say, they were uneatable.

9. Any one or two food confessions πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

I love vegetarian Italian fare, especially when it is made with a few, simple and fresh ingredients.

I am not a big fan of processed stuff, but I make an exception for Maggi noodles some times.

I get this immense craving for Chinese fare every once in a while, but don’t get to eat it very often. The OH hates Chinese food, so I usually end up with no company for a Chinese meal outside.

10. Apart from basic stuff, like milk, yogurt, veggies what you have in your fridge or in pantry? (Name any 3 items)

Amul cheese cubes

Tomato-onion chutney for dosas

Amul butter

11. Any food related or cooking resolutions for this year?

This is not a resolution, but something I try to follow every year – To try out as many new dishes as possible, and to learn to make as many new dishes as I can at home.

12. In our custom when you goto Kasi, you need to give up one of your favorite veggie and fruit. So you cannot eat that veggie or fruit from then on. Which one you would you give up? (It should be your favorite one)

I could never do that. My heart wouldn’t be in it, even if I did.

13. You need to prepare a 3 course meal for a party? What dishes will be there in your menu?

Sev poori/grilled mushrooms with soup from a packet (I am no good at making soups myself)

Aloo sabzi, dal tadka and rice/lemon rasam, beans curry and rice/onion sambar, beans curry and rice

Curd rice with a garnish of mustard seeds, green chillies, curry leaves and pomegranate seeds

Store-bought gulab jamuns/ice cream

I like to play safe when there are guests over, you see? πŸ™‚

If this tag interests you and you haven’t taken it up already, please feel free to do so!

21 thoughts on “The Food Tag

  1. Your post has whetted my appetite, literally, of course! I like your “non-resolution” #11, and may try that as well. I tend to make the same dishes, over and over again. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. @Freakyveggie

      We usually serve only some snacks and sweets at the girl-seeing ceremony. This was more than that, as I was telling Amita. The boy-seeing ceremony had already happened, and the wedding was more or less fixed at that stage. πŸ™‚ That’s why the cooking happened.

      I don’t cook a lot of stuff – in fact, I think I cook very few dishes regularly.

      Like

  2. Hi,

    You cooked for the arranged marriage girl seeing ceremony? Wow… hats off to you. Well.. My mom cooked and when I got some time alone with W, ( maybe 10 minutes) all I told him was that I cannot cook and I need tea πŸ˜›

    And then my Dad came and told me “All well” and the rest is history :). I am still learning to cook. I manage with some dishes. I prepare maps in the name of chappatis and W has no choice at all πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

