2014 End-Of-Year Book Survey

Hosted by The Perpetual Page Turner, this is a survey that I have taken up on my blog most years. I decided to follow tradition and take it up this year as well.

Here goes.

1. Best book you read in 2014?

The School Of Essential Ingredients by Erica Bauermeister. The book has been equally loved and hated by readers, but I ended up loving it. It is a beautiful, beautiful book that deserves to be read, especially by lovers of food, I think.

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

Molly Wizenberg’s Delancey: A Man, A Woman, A Restaurant, A Marriage. Having loved the author’s first book as much as I did, I had expected to love this one, the sequel, a lot too. However, I ended up thoroughly disappointed with it.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or a bad way) book you read in 2014?

Lucy Knisley’s Relish. It was the very first graphic novel I read. I enjoyed it more than I had thought I would.

4. Book you pushed the most people to read (and they did) in 2014?

From this year’s reads, The School Of Essential Ingredients. I kept recommending it to people all the time. This girl was so impressed by the book – it turned an everyday cooking dinner experience into sheer poetry for her.

5. Best series you started in 2014? Best sequel of 2014? Best series ender of 2014?

I didn’t really start a series in 2014. The couple of sequels that I read this year weren’t great either.

6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2014?

Pamela Timms. I loved her Korma, Kheer & Kismet.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief. I don’t usually read chunksters or YA or books set during wars, but I made an exception with this one. I wasn’t disappointed. Not at all.

8. Most action-packed/unputdownable/thrilling book of the year?

The Book Thief

9. Book you read in 2014 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

I don’t usually re-read books. There’s so much to read already!

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2014?

I read a lot of e-books on my Kindle this year, so missed out gazing adoringly at the covers, as I usually do with paper books. However, I do remember loving the cover of Melissa Senate’s The Love Goddess’ Cooking School. I read it as a paper book and liked the cover, but the book disappointed.

11. Most memorable character of 2014?

Liesel from The Book Thief.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?

The School Of Essential Ingredients.

13. Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2014?

The School Of Essential Ingredients, Me Before You and The Book Thief.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited until 2014 to finally read?

Nirupama Subramanian’s Keep The Change. This book was out quite a few years ago, but I picked it up only this year. I wonder why it didn’t look all that promising to me before now!

15. Favourite passage/quote from a book that you read in 2014?

There are too many to note here. I have marked most of my favourite lines on my Kindle, in case of e-books, or in my blog reviews, in case of paper books.

16. Shortest and longest book you read in 2014?

The longest was The Book Thief, and the shortest was One Hundred Ways For A Dog To Train Its Human.

17. Book that shocked you the most?

The Book Thief, in that it wasn’t gory at all, though it has the backdrop of a war. In fact, the book is downright beautiful. Heart-breaking, yes.

18. One true pairing of the year?

Valentine and her lover from Adriana Trigiani’s Very Valentine. I liked the way they lasted in spite of certain hurdles in their relationship.

19. Favourite non-romantic relationship of the year?

That between Valentine and her grandmother in Very Valentine.

20. Favourite book you read in 2014 from an author you have read previously?

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

21. Best book you read in 2014 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody/peer pressure?

The Book Thief. I was intrigued by the sheer number of wonderful reviews that this book was getting from people, and that is what prompted me to pick it up. I finished reading it this year, in spite of not being able to get into it initially, and I am so, so, so glad I did. I doubt I would have picked up this book on my own, had I come across it in a bookstore.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Not a crush, but I loved the character of Frankie from Annie Sanders’ Busy Woman Seeks Wife. Yes, some of the things he did were implausible in real life, but he was still a sweetheart.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

Korma, Kheer & Kismet by Pamela Timms.

24. Best worldbuilding/most vivid setting you read in 2014?

The Book Thief.

25. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most fun to read?

Molly Wizenberg’s A Homemade Life.

26. Book that made you cry/nearly cry in 2014?

The Book Thief, Me Before You and The School Of Essential Ingredients.

27. Hidden gem of the year?

The School Of Essential Ingredients.

28. Book that crushed your soul?

The Book Thief, Me Before You and The School Of Essential Ingredients.

29. Most unique book you read in 2014?

Relish.

30. Book that made you the most mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

The Book Thief, Me Before You and The School Of Essential Ingredients.

7 thoughts on “2014 End-Of-Year Book Survey

  1. This is a nice tag with a set of interesting questions. I did a stock taking of my 2014 readings only just yesterday, but seeing your tag, I am so tempted to do it all over again πŸ™‚ Happy reading in 2015 as well!

    Like

  2. Interesting to note that some of your books are food-related! The School Of Essential Ingredients sounds like a book I should keep an eye out for. I read Me Before Yourecently, and The Book Thief a few years ago. Both are incredible books. Have a safe and happy New Year’s!

    Like

Leave a Reply

