Top 10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year

It seems as if 2014 just started, and it is Christmas time already! But then, I seem to be saying the same thing every year. 🙂

We are just starting to get into the holiday mood. I hope it will happen over the next one week. Our little tree is yet to go up, the lights on it are yet to start a-twinkling. We are yet to make our annual pilgrimage to a few churches in the city and get absorbed in the magical feeling of seeing them all lit up in the night. We are yet to get our hands on some gorgeous ‘plum cake’. We are yet to swing along to Christmas carols, playing them off and on on YouTube all day. The OH has just returned from a long work trip to Delhi, and my hands have been full with taking care of Bubboo. Well, it is Bubboo’s first Christmas, and we have to ensure we do our Christmas-sy bit for her.

To get started with the holiday cheer, here’s a list of 10 books that I wouldn’t mind Santa bringing this year, for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday.

1. French Milk by Lucy Knisley

I enjoyed reading Lucy Knisley’s Relish: My Life In The Kitchen, a graphic novel about the author’s growing-up years and the kind of food that she grew up eating. I think I will love French Milk by her too, another graphic novel about a trip to Paris that the author went to with her mother. Apparently, it is a beautiful book about mother-daughter bonding. I haven’t read many graphic novels, and this seems to be a good time for one!

2. Letters To Vera by Vladimir Nabokov

I am in love with the few lines from this book that I happened to read via my Facebook feed. I haven’t read any Vladimir Nabokov yet, but I am sure I would love to read this book comprised of his letters to his beloved wife Vera. I have always been fond of epistolary books, and this one seems to be exceptionally beautiful. I would have gone ahead and bought this book myself, but its price (at least in India) seems to be sky-high!

3. Chai, Chai: Travels In Places Where You Stop But Never Get Off by Bishwanath Ghosh

I am in the mood for some light travel-related reading. Considering that I love a decent cup of masala chai, I think this would be a great read for me now.

4. The Cherry Cola Book Club by Ashton Lee

I could never resist books about book clubs, and this one seems to have a highly charming storyline. I so want to give this one a try!

5. The Italian Wedding by Nicky Pellegrino

Books set in Italy have always held a special attraction for me, and this one is no exception. Plus, there seems to be a lot of gorgeous descriptions of Italian food and weddings and wedding dresses. I think this book will be great for my current mind-frame. I have been wanting to read this book for oh-so-long now!

6. A House In Sicily by Daphne Phelps

This book has been on my TBR list ever since I read about it on Pia’s blog. It seems to be just my kind of travel reading, and I am looking forward to get my hands on it.

7. The Reading Promise: My Father And The Books We Shared by Alice Ozma

I love books about books and book clubs, as I have said many times before, and this one seems to be right up my alley. I think I will enjoy this one.

8. The Dirty Life: On Farming, Food And Love by Kristin Kimball

This is the memoir of a city woman who fell in love with a farmer, quit her life in the city and went to live on the farm with her lover, embracing an entirely new way of life. The premise is definitely interesting, and something very new for me. I would love to give this book a try.

9. Return To India by Shoba Narayan

I enjoyed the author’s Monsoon Diary quite a lot, and think I want to check out this book by her too. This one is not about food, but about her family’s return to India after a long stay in the US of A. This is a topic I have often wondered about, and I am sure this book will provide me food for thought.

10. Important Artifacts And Personal Property From The Collection Of Lenore Doolan And Harold Morris, Including Books, Street Fashion, And Jewelry by Leanne Shapton

Yes, that is the name of a book, and, yes, it does sound pretty unique. Any wonder why I want to get my hands on it? I am curious!

I hope the in-house Santa is reading! 😀 😀 😀

What books are on your XMas wish list?

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing This Year

    1. @Twogourmetsfrombangalore

      Oh, Santa is listening for sure! 🙂 Usne meri sunn li *In a very filmi tone*

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Not only did you save my pocket from suffering a setback of a couple of thousand rupees, but you gave me something beautiful to start the holiday season with. 🙂

      Merry Xmas to you and yours!

      Like

Leave a Reply

