Top New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

2014 was not a great year for me in terms of reading. I did read a fair amount of books this year, but did not experiment much in terms of genre or writers. I discovered a few new authors, though, and hope to read more by them in the next year.

For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday, I present to you the top new authors I read in the year 2014, in no particular order of preference.

1. Madhur Jaffrey

This year, I read Madhur Jaffrey’s memoir about her growing-up days in Delhi, Climbing The Mango Trees: A Memoir Of A Childhood In India, and quite enjoyed the experience. It is a charming book, full of nostalgia and droolworthy descriptions of the food that the author grew up eating.

I would love to read more by the author, but all I could find were cookbooks written by her. No more memoirs or foodie fiction.

2. Molly Wizenberg

I loved the author’s debut book, A Homemade Life: Stories And Recipes From My Kitchen Table, and absolutely loved it. In fact, it was one of my most favourite books for this year. Such a beautiful foodie memoir, something I could absolutely relate with.

I am looking forward to reading her second book, Delancey: A Man, A Woman, A Restaurant, A Marriage. I have already downloaded it on my Kindle.

3. Erica Bauermeister

I loved the first book that I read by this author, The School Of Essential Ingredients. The prose was beautiful, the characters very real, the storyline compelling, and there were loads of gorgeous descriptions about food in the book.

I would definitely love to read more books by her.

4. Jeanne Ray

I recently read Jeanne Ray’s Julie And Romeo, and liked the book quite a lot. The author’s writing style is crisp and witty, and the book made for a lovely light read.

The author has written a few other books as well, and I am definitely going to lay my hands on them soon.

5. Pamela Timms

Pamela Timms’s Korma, Kheer & Kismet was such a delightful read, I didn’t want the book to end at all. I loved how the author brought to life the small shops that you find in the narrow alleyways of Old Delhi, and the many flavours that she discovered there. The imagery was vivid, and I could see everything I read about as if it were happening right in front of me.

I don’t think the author has written any more books apart from this one. If she does, though, I would be more than happy to read them.

6. Lucy Knisley

I loved Lucy Knisley’s Relish, one among the very few graphic novels that I have read. It is a memoir about the author’s growing-up days, told in the form of beautiful, very apt graphics.

I would like to get my hands on the other graphic novels by the author. Apparently, she has written a few more.

7. Nirupama Subramanian

Nirupama Subramanian’s debut novel, Keep The Change, was quite an enjoyable light read for me. The story was no great shakes, but I liked the way it was written. Very down-to-earth, very realistic, a lot of fun.

I am eager to read her second book as well, which is called Intermission.

8. Shoba Narayan

Reading Shoba Narayan’s foodie memoir Monsoon Diary was an absolute treat for me. I loved her descriptions about the types of food that she grew up eating, her family, and the important events in her life.

I would definitely like to read her other book, Return To India: An Immigrant Memoir.

9. Nicky Pellegrino

I discovered Nicky Pellegrino’s books this year too. I liked the first book by her that I read, Delicious, though I wouldn’t include it among the best chick-lit books I have read. In spite of its flaws, the book did have its own charms.

The author has written quite a few other books, which I am eager to discover.

10. Sophie Blackall

Missed Connections by Sophie Blackall was one of the most unique books that I read this year. With its real-life romances and beautiful illustrations, it made for a very interesting read. The book is a collector’s item, as I said in my earlier review on the blog.

I wasn’t able to find any more books written by the author, but I would definitely go for them, if there were any.

Who were the top new authors you discovered in 2014? I would love to hear all about them!

2 thoughts on “Top New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

  1. This year was very laid back in reading. Here are some of the new authors I read either while breastfeeding or while rocking my daughter to sleep

    No one can love you more by Mayank Soofi :- Its all about life in Delhi’s red light district. I think its told quite clinically. Surprisingly, I did not get sentimental while reading this.

    84 Charring Cross Road by Helene Hanff :- A classic, which everyone knows

    Talking about Jane Austen in Baghdad :- The true story of how an Iraqi professor managed to escape to Britain with a little help from a BBC employee. A chance correspondence brings two women in contact. They communicate over letters and a few phone calls. A book is published detailing their letters. All proceeds from the book are used to sponsor the Iraqi professor’s trip to UK. Quite interesting, humorous and fun to read.

    Like

    1. @Amitasingh10

      I have read 84, Charing Cross Road. It is one of my most favourite books of all times.

      I don’t think No One Can Love You More is my cup of tea, but I would surely like to try out Talking About Jane Austen In Baghdad. Thanks for the suggestions!

      Like

Leave a Reply

